Skip to Main Content

Standards for Learning in the School Library: New York State Learning Standards

A collection of links to NYS Learning Standards, the ESIFC, the SLMPE, AASL Standards, Future Ready and ISTE standards.

Next Generation English Language Arts (2017)

The New York State Next Generation English Language Arts Learning Standards (Revised 2017) consist of revisions, additions, deletions, vertical movement, and clarifications of the current English Language Arts Standards. They are defined as the knowledge, skills, and understanding that individuals can and do habitually demonstrate over time when exposed to high-quality instructional environments and learning experiences.

Next Generation Mathematics Learning Standards (2017)

The New York State Next Generation Mathematics Learning Standards (2017) reflect revisions, additions, vertical movement, and clarifications to the current mathematics standards. The Standards are defined as the knowledge, skills and understanding that individuals can and do habitually demonstrate over time because of instruction and learning experiences. These mathematics standards, collectively, are focused and cohesive—designed to support student access to the knowledge and understanding of the mathematical concepts that are necessary to function in a world very dependent upon the application of mathematics, while providing educators the opportunity to devise innovative programs to support this endeavor. As with any set of standards, they need to be rigorous; they need to demand a balance of conceptual understanding, procedural fluency and application and represent a significant level of achievement in mathematics that will enable students to successfully transition to post-secondary education and the workforce.

Blueprint for English Language Learner/ Multilingual Learner Success

The Next Generation Learning Standards require that every teacher be prepared to teach academic language and challenging content to all students, including ELLs/MLLs. All teachers must be skilled in how to support ELLs/MLLs as they acquire content knowledge while also progressing towards English language proficiency. It is imperative that all educators work across the content areas to ensure that all students meet the high demands of the Next Generation Learning Standards.




Framework for Safe, Supportive, and Affirming School Environments (2023)

The New York State Education Department on June 12, 2023, released a framework and legal update to support schools in fostering an educational environment that is safe, supportive, and affirming for transgender and gender expansive (TGE) students, Commissioner Betty A. Rosa announced. The framework provides legal updates and best practices to facilitate compliance with state and federal laws concerning bullying, harassment, discrimination, and student privacy. The update also reflects outreach to include the voices and experiences of transgender and gender expansive students in New York schools.


K12 Computer Science and Digital Fluency Learning Standards (2020)

The New York State K12 Computer Science and Digital Fluency Learning Standards were adopted by the Board of Regents in December 2020.  The new standards focus on five key concepts:

  • Impacts of Computing
  • Computational Thinking
  • Networks & System Design
  • Cybersecurity
  • Digital Literacy

CS&DF Standards implemented in all grade bands K-12 - September 2024

K-12 Social Studies Framework (2016)

The New York State K-12 Social Studies Framework is designed to prepare students for college, careers, and civic life with courses that are rigorous and aligned to the New York State Learning Standards for Social Studies. This Framework consists of a single three-part document--the Introduction to the Framework, Grades K-8 and Grades 9-12. The orginal Framework was published in 2014. Subsequently the K-8 document was revised in 2016.

P-12 Science Learning Standards (2018)

The New York State P-12 Science Learning Standards are a series of performance expectations that define what students should understand and be able to do as a result of their study of science. The New York State P-12 Science Learning Standards are based on the Framework for K–12 Science Education developed by the National Research Council1 and the Next Generation Science Standards2 . The framework outlines three dimensions that are needed to provide students a high-quality science education. The integration of these three dimensions provides students with a context for the content of science, how science knowledge is acquired and understood, and how the sciences are connected through concepts that have universal meaning across the disciplines.

P-12 Learning Standards for the Arts (2017)

The 2017 New York State P-12 Learning Standards for the Arts are designed to develop artistically literate citizens. An artistically literate citizen has the knowledge, skills, and understanding to actively engage in the arts throughout their lives. The intrinsic nature of the arts leads to and promotes a civilized, sustainable society. Artistically literate graduates are career and college ready, capable of understanding and addressing the needs of society, and participating in a global economy.

Health Education

This page provides guidance, information and resources for school health instruction as required by education law and Commissioner's regulations. The New York State Center For School Health also has updated and comprehensive materials available.


Physical Education Standards (2020)

Physical Education is a required subject for all students in grades K-12. When students reach the commencement level of the learning standards for physical education, they will have the knowledge and skills to participate in a variety of healthy activities; understand and appreciate the benefits of maintaining a healthful lifestyle; understand how to evaluate and access resources in their community to pursue a healthy and active life; and will be aware of the many career opportunities available in this field.