Who made this site?
That would be me — Marie Chatfield. This project was built using the PDF.js platform (created by Mozilla) and the color blind SVG filters found in the colourblind bookmarklet (created by Alastair Douglas). View the source code of this project and contribute on GitHub.
BLOG POST > NOV 17, 2021 • GEORGE DALBO
Set among the bucolic farm fields and rural communities of southern Wisconsin, Clinton, where I live and teach, is the quintessential American small town. The center of the community's social life is the Clinton Junior-Senior High School, which prides itself on traditions, such as the homecoming parade, chili and cinnamon roll fundraiser, and drive-your-tractor-to-school day.
Holocaust education is an equally valued part of children’s middle and high school experience in this community, from reading survivor memoirs and novels to the annual 8th-grade trip to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C. By the time students enroll in my junior-senior “Genocide and Human Rights” elective course, most of them have studied the Holocaust numerous times in their social studies, English language arts, and German classes. [...]
https://artsandculture.google.com/project/indigenous-americas/history
The International Literacy Association just published a Literacy Leadership Brief entitled “The Essential Leadership of School Librarians.” [link to PDF]
Do you know of any good resources for elementary students to access regarding strengths and careers? The students did a lesson on strengths. They uncovered their interests and talents and now I would like them to learn about possible careers linked to their aptitudes. The databases we have related to careers are very wordy and difficult for our fifth and sixth graders to understand. Let me know if you have any suggestions. Thank you so much!
School libraries have evolved from one-quiet study centers to places that support research, digital citizenship, critical thinking skill-building, collaboration, and more. School librarians and digital media specialists play a pivotal role in helping teachers and students access information and build durable skills for the global economy.
Don’t miss the eSchool News July Guide: The Evolving Role of School Libraries and Librarians. We review the essential skills librarians help students build, discuss why administrators should regularly collaborate with school librarians, identify how to future-proof school libraries, and more.
Ditch that Textbook released a fun blog post about how to create Netflix Style Learning!
Flipgrid is hosting field trips on topics ranging from World Read Aloud Day to anti-racism, to polar bear day! You can find the complete listing of events here
Culliver Crantz (Joe), author of the FrightVision series, is offering virtual visits with interactive brainstorming sessions. On his site he has some testimonials and reflections. The site also has a Kids Zone that has some games and activities for the students to enjoy! You can find more information in the educators area of the site
Knowledge Quest published a blog post about Word's Immersive Reader, which can be found here
100 remote learning activities, templates, and tutorials from Ditch That Textbook
FactCite has shared 28 Days of Achievement, a calendar focused on Black History for the month of February
This article, What 2020 Has Taught Me About Advocacy - A Simple Way to Toot Your Own Horn gives a nice positive perspective!
Ditch That Textbook has released templates for Google Slides that are based on Social Media! These give your slides a new look and are super engaging to your students. You can find them here.
Mrs. Esther Park runs a blog and provides resources and tech tips
Jessica from What I Have Learned Teaching offers virtual teaching ideas, book lists, and other incredible resources
Remove the sidebar and ads from YouTube videos with this trick from Shannon McClintock Miller!
Shannon McClintock Miller has choice boards made for you here
Wakelet collection on Computer skills and Online Games
Wakelet collection on Coding
Various virtual workshops for educators can be found here
ProQuest launched a new website: The Black Freedom Struggle in the United States. It’s a free, open resource for students, educators and others who are researching U.S. Black history.
You can access the site at blackfreedom.proquest.com.
The site features over 2,000 curated primary-source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Our intention is to support a wide range of students, independent researchers and anyone interested in learning more about the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. – and the fights against it.
Here is a press release with additional information.
National Geographic offers a library of resources ranging from articles to lessons to maps to images and so much more!
The Library Themes page from School Library System contains Wakelets focused on tech tools and teaching related materials.
You can click here for a collection of holidays and their related resources.
This collection is focused on specific teaching units, such as primary sources, alternative energy, westward expansion, and more.
This Wakelet collection is focused on helping librarians build their PLN.
These Facebook groups can help provide helpful information and answer questions you didn't even know you had!
If you know of any other groups please feel free to send them our way
Hacking School Libraries (and other classrooms!)
Librarians, Library Media Specialists, Technology Integration Specialists
Follett Destiny Users for Librarians
Librarians, Library Media Specialists, Technology Integration Specialists
The School Librarian's Workshop
School Librarians Saving the World one Bitmoji at a Time
New York City School Library System
Antiracist School Librarians NOW!
The School Librarian's Workshop
School Library Media Specialists
Middle School Librarian Exchange
