COVID-19 Educational Resources for home use: Connecting to the World

Jake Miller - #EduGIF Guy. Speaker. Tech Integration Specialist. Google Apps for Edu Trainer. Nerd. #EduDuctTape Podcast Host.

The Gale and Britannica databases are provided at no cost via the federal Library Services and Technology Act grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) administered by the New York State Library, this program is called NOVELny.

Individual schools have a generic login.

Links to vendor websites to learn features or to incorporate into lessons.

A K-12 continuum of the information literacy and inquiry skills that are essential for all students to learn was originally developed in 2009 by school librarians in New York City under the auspices of the Office of Library Services and Director Barbara Stripling and was updated in 2019.

eSchool News Online and Blended Learning Guide including the latest tools to learn during COVID-19, full of resources, tips, trends, and insight from industry experts on Online and Blended Learning that are essential to the classroom, school, and district. {April 14, 2020}

by Naomi Harm. {Found on LinkedIn}

The L.I. Regional Bilingual Education Resource Network (L.I. RBERN) is a New York State Education Department (NYSED) supported techncial assistance center housed at Eastern Suffolk BOCES. The L.I. RBERN is charged with supporting districts and schools in promoting equity and excellence in the education of English Language Learners (ELLs) by providing high quality technical assistance, on-site consultation, and professional development.

For all of the educators, caregivers, and students looking for engaging and educational activities to do right from home, look no further! This portal brings together many of the museum’s resources, including links to our virtual “Fieldtrips,” digital collections, online resources, and fun activities for kids based on the museum’s research and collections. Content on this page will be updated often, so be sure to check back for new information and activities!

This a resource put together by RIC One, the 12 Regional Information Centers, to help address questions about student data privacy and security related to compliance with Ed. Law 2-d and Part 121 of the Commissioner’s Regulations.

Many of the Arts in Education and Exploratory Enrichment Programs are offering FREE or subscription based experiences.
All fee based Programs can be Contracted through Eastern Suffolk BOCES Arts in Education.

Free Tools from Leading Education Organizations to help students learn through the COVID-19 Crisis from Common Sense Media.

Capital Region BOCES in partnership with its 24 components school districts has launched this website as a resource for K-12 educators to support them with remote learning. This site houses high-quality educational resources and lessons mapped to priority curriculum standards for K-8 math and ELA, middle school science and social studies, and Regents courses. This is a coordinated effort designed to maximize the efforts and talent found across our districts for the good of all educators in our region.

Webinars, podcasts, and professional blogs are great ways to make your learning opportunities into “on demand” opportunities. Each of these platforms allows you to not only curate topics that appeal to you but also to choose when and where your learning happens.

A variety of webinars and resources from Arts in Education, Model Schools, Professional Development, School Library System and Year Round Enrichment.

Schedule of Virtual Workshops Available During COVID-19

A temporary hub of information and tools to help teachers during the coronavirus (COVID-19) crisis.

Cari White -- Are you working to provide distance learning opportunities for your students? You are welcome to link to this post from your library web page. Or you can copy and paste from the Google Doc at the end of this post, onto your own library or school website. I will update this post as I see new resources become available!

NYSCATE has assembled a series of resources for our members including real-time office hours and content specific interactive webinars.

In order to meet the needs of our stakeholders we are providing an extensive and ongoing resource list for continued learning. This site is currently under construction, resources are being added on a continuous basis.

One of the great benefits of a digital archive is its dynamic nature. As new material is found it can be readily incorporated. Since launching the site, we have continued our research and our gathering of historical documents relating to the pandemic.

Our primary source sets are helpful resources for educators preparing to teach remotely during the COVID-19 outbreak. Each set contains a variety of primary sources, context, lesson plans, discussion questions and student activities.

Members of ISTE’s professional learning networks have been hard at work identifying key practices for successful online learning. Here are some of the best ideas from educators from around the world, many of whom have already been teaching during coronavirus closures.

For educators looking to infuse the arts into their educational practices, we’ve developed a robust collection of hundreds of digital learning resources: lessons, articles, performance guides, how-tos and much more. And did we mention they’re free?

The Library has millions of resources online – including some of history’s most important manuscripts, photographs, maps, recordings and films – to help teachers, parents and students learn about the world around us.

Bring the wonder of space to your students. Explore our universe of science, technology, engineering and math activities and resources.

ach Teaching History Virtually session focuses on one virtual teaching skill. An NHD staff member is joined by an NHD partner to showcase content resources for use in the online classroom. Each session also provides an open Q&A segment to address participant questions.

Use these stories to help your students understand what is being done to keep them safe and how to prevent germs from spreading

I’m a passionate educator and coach who is committed to helping teachers create caring working relationships with every student and giving them powerful tools that will help reduce negative classroom behaviors that rob them of their teachable time.

Astronauts on the International Space Station live and work for weeks as part of a crew of six in a space about the size of a six-bedroom house, plus room for lots of laboratories. They are experts at this lifestyle, and they will be our inspiration for this program to connect those doing distance learning to the wonders of the Solar System.

Resources, training, and support to assist caregivers, teachers, and students as they face new learning challenges.

Starting Monday, March 23, 2020, WNET station WLIW World will shift its programming lineup to better serve the students who are homebound during the Coronavirus crisis. Content will focus on Literature, History, Science and the Arts, drawing from WNET’s vast archive of PBS and locally produced content.

We asked the MindShift community to share how they’re addressing the issue and what strategies, tips or activities might they have to do distance learning with students who only have access to cellphones and limited data or internet.

April 2, 2020 - While we are all doing some of that online/distance/virtual learning right now, it is not what this should be called. This is emergency remote learning.

April 9, 2020 - One big barrier to sustaining education via remote instruction during the COVID-19 pandemic has been students’ unequal access to advanced technology tools. Laptops and internet connections are not available in every household, and even students who usually have such resources available may now find themselves competing for them with siblings or parents studying or working from home.

Decisions on continuity of learning, including instructional decisions, methods, tools, curriculum, and resources utilized, are a local decision.

Looking for ways to keep your comics-loving kids and teens occupied? These free webcomics promise to eat up hours of time.

For as long as schools are closed, we're open. Starting today, kids everywhere can instantly stream an incredible collection of stories, including titles across six different languages, that will help them continue dreaming, learning, and just being kids. All stories are free to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet.

Welcome to the Authors Who Skype with Classes & Book Clubs List! I’m Kate Messner, the children’s author and educator who maintains this site. I started it because I’ve found that virtual author visits are a great way to connect authors and readers, and I realize that many schools facing budget troubles don’t have the option of paid author visits.

With kids at home and parents looking for educational activities, many of our favorite authors are offering online read-alouds and activities on social media. We’ve rounded up over 50 of the best virtual author activities below!

Bound to Stay Bound wants you to know that during these unprecedented school closures, we are here to support educators, parents, students, and our community in any way we can. New information will be added daily.

In this collaborative project with Random House, storyteller Ms. Linda reads aloud full-length stories. {via AASL}

As we all work together to get through these unprecedented times, Gumdrop Books is working diligently with our partners to help provide resources for students, parents, educators, and public libraries.

This digital library features a collection of free children’s books from around the world from 73 languages. {via AASL}

With JLG Gold Standard eBooks for Elementary, Middle School and High school students, JLG Digital gives you and your readers unlimited access* to read books online from any device. There is no limit to the number of users and titles enter and exit the digital stream regularly, so there are always new picks available.

LEE & LOW BOOKS is the largest multicultural children's book publisher in the country. We are also one of the few minority-owned publishing companies in the United States, as well as a throwback to what many publishers used to be

Lit2Go is a free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3 (audiobook) format.

This website by the Oxford Press offers support for children’s learning at home and in school. {via AASL}

This digital library contains full-text e-books from the public domain.

Good news for Harry Potter fans. Author J.K. Rowling has granted educators permission to record themselves reading the Harry Potter stories aloud. “The open license does apply to school librarians, as they are classified as teachers,” Rebecca Salt, a spokesperson for J.K. Rowling, told SLJ. While the allowance does not include public libraries, expect an update on that soon, she said.

With many libraries closed, this is a great time to check out the free SimplyE app, available for iOS and Android. Access more than 5,000 ebook titles--from the classics to contemporary fantasy and sci-fi--ALL FOR FREE by choosing DPLA as your library and tapping on the DPLA Collection or New York Public Library. No sign in or library card required!

This website features videos of celebrities reading our favorite children’s books.

Wilbooks has available over 1,000 of our titles (both English and Spanish) online to read for free.

Welcome to Kidcasts, a 10-part SLJ series delivering playlists with high-interest, educational podcasts to share with students and families who are learning at home.

Common Sense Media rates movies, TV shows, books, and more so parents can feel good about the entertainment choices they make for their kids. We offer the largest, most trusted library of independent age-based ratings and reviews.

Lord Andrew Lloyd Webber is calling all musical lovers! We’ll be releasing a full-length, smash-hit musical once a week for you to watch for free! It will be available for 48 hours, so you can tune in whenever you like over the weekend!

Musical Explorers connects students in grades K–2 to rich and diverse musical communities as they build fundamental music skills through listening, singing, and moving to songs from all over the world. With a free online curriculum available to educators worldwide and live experiences for New York City teachers, it’s now easier than ever to bring Musical Explorers into your classroom.

Discover artworks, collections and stories from all around the world in a new way. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail and easily share with your friends.

An ever growing listing of film and video resources listed Pearltrees.

via NPR

During this extraordinary and difficult time, the Met hopes to brighten the lives of our audience members even while our stage is dark. Every day a different encore presentation from the company’s Live in HD series is being released for free, on-demand streaming, with each performance available for a period of 23 hours, beginning at 7:30 p.m. EDT

Find Online Resources & Activities Portal and Facebook Live Field Trips here.