August - November
FactCite for Elementary Students
CultureGrams for Elementary Students
Discovery Education Webinar
Engaging Students in Authentic Science Experiences from 9 AM to 11 AM
Defined STEM Webinar
Defined STEM, a review of project based learning, videos and otehr resources from 11:15 AM to 11:45 AM
STEAM Training by Keri Haas, Eastern Suffolk BOCES Model Schools
Please visit the Fall Institute LibGuides link for all available handouts
World Book ~ 9:00 – 10:00 am
Pat Marinello will present World Book Online and engage participants in hands-on activities. Discover the many resources in World Book that provide students with reliable information. Learn how to help students of all ages have fun learning different subjects through the many games, quizzes, and hands-on activities found throughout World Book Online
Encyclopaedia Britannica ~ 10:00 – 11:30 am
Join Britannica Digital Learning for a workshop to develop strategies to use information gained from a variety of content sources. Educators will explore Britannica School and ImageQuest platforms through a lens of informational and visual literacy. This workshop provides educators with the tools to challenge students through the research process.
TeachingBooks ~ 12:30 – 2:00 pm
Discover the NEW TeachingBooks! All the same great resources! A new look! Explore videos filmed in authors’ studios, lessons, book trailers, and vocabulary lists. Discover resources that will expand the experience readers have with books.
Are our Young Adults Stressed or Depressed?
Working with LGBTQ Youth
December - February
Please see [2018-2019] 01/11/19 for last year's titles.
ALA American Library Association
News
This is a Librarian driven class…Some of the Topics will include:
With time to practice creating all that you have learned. There will be computers available for you to use.
This program will look at MLA 8 and how it differs from previous MLA citation styles. We will discuss why these differences came about and how they are geared to better serve us in the information age. We will also discuss students' perceptions of the citation process (it's not just about plagiarism) and how we can guide them to better understand the value of citing.
What do you need to know about copyright to help students and teachers use digital media in their own work? Come explore how copyright, open licensing, and terms of use affect the creation of mashups, remixes, and other projects involving digital media formats.
1
2
1
2
March - June
Discovery Education in partnership with Eastern Suffolk BOCES School Library Sytem is excited to provide a deep dive into the newest features of the Discovery Education Experience, formerly known as Discovery Education Streaming. Discovery Education Experience is a simple-to-use K-12 learning platform that combines dynamic curated curriculum resources with on-demand teaching strategies, personalized for your needs as an educator.
“Google Classroom” ~ April 1, 2020 ~ 10:00 – 11:00 am >> Google Classroom is a tool that enables teachers/librarians to organize and present information to their students by placing announcements, resources, assignments and learning experiences in one place. It also provides the ability to send feedback and have students respond to each other. Students access Google Classroom from any internet connected device.
Classroom Resource page // Zoom video archive
“Google Arts and Culture” ~ April 1, 2020 ~ 11:30 am – 12:30 pm >> Google Arts & Culture is a collaboration between Google and over 1,200 international museums, galleries and institutions from 70 countries to make their exhibits available for everyone online.
Arts and Culture Resource page // Zoom video BELOW
“Google Forms” ~ April 2, 2020 ~ 11:30 am – 12:30 pm >> Google Forms is a free tool and component of G Suite that allows you to create and distribute surveys and quizzes, collect all responses in a spreadsheet for easy analysis, get helpful summaries of the response data in the form of charts and graphs.
Forms Resource page // Zoom video archive
These workshops will be presented by Corinne Carriero, Certified Trainer - Google for Education.
“Microsoft 365 and OneDrive” ~ April 2, 2020 ~ 10:00 – 11:00 am >> This session will provide participants with an overview of the 365 Dashboard, sharing settings, and the apps that are available with your Microsoft 365 account and is meant for a beginner audience.
This workshop will be presented by Anthony Martini and Blanca Duarte, LogicWing
“Ideas for School Librarians using Google Classroom and other Google tools” ~ April 16, 2020 ~ 10:00 – 11:00 am
Attend this session to learn how to use Google Classroom and other Google tools to create a virtual “library” classroom where students can ask you questions and get reference materials to support their learning.
You will learn how to:
“Ideas for School Librarians using Microsoft Teams and other Office 365 tools” ~ April 16, 2020 ~ 11:30 am – 12:30 pm
Attend this session to learn how to use Microsoft Teams and other Office 365 tools to create a virtual “library” classroom where students can ask you questions and get reference materials to support their learning.
You will learn how to:
Educator Guide: Learning Remotely Using Skype in the Classroom
This presentation will introduce participants to NYSED’s Culturally Responsive-Sustaining (CR-S) Education Framework. The framework was designed to support educators as they create learning environments that affirm cultural and linguistic diversity and promote inclusivity. The four principles will be defined and the significant role of library media specialists in fostering culturally responsive-sustaining educational communities will be discussed. Practical applications for providing appropriate supports and services to promote positive student outcomes will be provided.
Heather Parris-Fitzpatrick, Resource Specialist, L.I. RBE-RN
This workshop will fulfill 3 hours for the CTLE - ELL requirement.
Are you interested in applying for the EMTA Media Literacy Project Grant? Join 2019 grant winner Julia DeMaio, LMS, Connetquot CSD, as she talks about the process. She will cover the steps she took to apply, how she chose what projects her students would create, completing the projects, and sharing the final result.
Materials List
Record and share short videos for students and listen to them respond! Flipgrid is an easy and engaging tool for educator to use with students. You create grids with topics that students can respond to, and they can comment back via video and voice. Read how educators are using Flipgrid for remote learning. Or, if you already have an account, click here to search the “Disco”very Library for thousands of ideas from educators all over the world!
Attendees will learn how to:
- Create a Flipgrid account
- Create and modify a Grid
- Create topics for students or use topics from the Disco library
- View how a student responds
- Create a Mixtape
GOOGLE SITES and GOOGLE KEEP
Use Google Sites to Support Student Projects and Build ePortfolios - Join us to learn how G Suite apps interface easily with Google Sites. Google Sites uses a simple user interface so you can quickly get to work creating a website. In this session you will learn why educators use Google to build websites and create their own school or personal portfolios! Participants in this session will engage in a collaborative Google Site and begin to build their own library website where you can house resources and lessons. In addition, engage in a variety of different student activities to explore how it can be used for research projects.
We will cover how Google Sites can:
- support your library collection of resources and lessons
- implementation of student projects
- allow for student collaboration and communication
- showcase student learning over time
GOOGLE KEEP
We will also go over Google Keep, a digital note taking application. More than digital sticky notes, Keep can help you accomplish your tasks, keep track of projects, capture free form information like handwriting and pictures, and integrate with the rest of G Suite. Perfect for saving information quickly for research projects. Save time by quickly finding important information and transform it with mobile and web applications.
This workshop will focus on Capstone & PebbleGo Resources. Aurelia Cardamone, Sales Representative for Capstone, will present on the upgrades and free resources available through Capstone and PebbleGO.
- PebbleGo is designed for K-2
- PebbleGo Next is designed for grades 3-5.
- Capstone Interactive includes titles for Pre K-8
Most of the focus and product will be for elementary level....but Capstone Interactive does include some secondary titles.
In this session you will learn how to use Screencastify to enhance your virtual lessons. Use Screencastify as a way to interact with students, allow students to have their voices heard, and easily integrate it with Google Classroom. Some of the topics that will be covered in this session are: Screencastify installation, Record step-by-step lesson instructions, student self-reflection, differentiated instruction, share videos to Google Classroom, export as MP4, trim recordings, annotation tools, and Google Slide narration.
This webinar will be presented by Yvonne Perez, LMS, Westhampton Beach Middle School.
Learn how to use the NoodleTools online research management platform to promote critical thinking and authentic research with your students. In this workshop you will learn how to help your students create citations, develop notecards using direct quotes, paraphrasing & original thought and eventually turn those notecards into a well-developed outline and research paper. As the facilitator you will be able to provide feedback, monitor individual contributions to group work, and view statistics about source use, all while protecting your student's privacy.
Presented by Carol Gaughran, LMS, South Ocean Middle School
Not sure how to organize all of the amazing resources you find? Not sure how to share your resources in an appealing way? Bookmarking got an upgrade! Learn how to use Wakelet to bookmark resources, create organized collections, and share your newly curated collections with colleagues and students.
Presented by Mandy Van Auken, LMS, East Quogue Elementary School, East Quogue School District
There was a question on Mandy's Wakelet presentation today about using the Read Mode on an article link and having the article translated. Mandy had used an article from Smithsonian Tween Tribune.
I was looking at this resource today and they do have articles in Spanish in the top toolbar. From there, copy the article URL, paste into your Wakelet collection and the students will be able to use the Read Mode to eliminate the ads, comments, etc. and use the Immersive Reader to read the article in Spanish.
I also found that if you select translate in Immersive Reader, it will read it in the native language, even if the original article is in English.
And one more... I tried this out on some of my saved websites in Wakelet. When I used Immersive Reader on the websites, and translated, it was able to do so.
This is a huge win for ELL!!!
Sandy Bucher, Library Media Specialist, Sagamore Middle School, Sachem CSD
In this workshop, I will be showing you how to create your very own at home digital learning bitmoji scene! These fun settings can be used in a variety of ways. You might want to add it as your header on your Google Site, or as the banner on your Google Classroom. It would also make a great Facebook cover page for your library Facebook page! You will also learn how to make it interactive if you choose to use it as a lesson during distance learning!
Presented by Michelle Craig, LMS, Clayton Huey Elementary School, Center Moriches School District
Creativity, problem-solving, and critical thinking are all highly adaptable skills every student needs. Join us as we discuss the benefits of creating a culture and environment that promotes cross-curricular learning, and see in-person how Kids Discover's digital tools make creating cross-curricular lessons easy, and more importantly, exciting for students.
Presented by Ted Levine, President and CEO
Esports (AKA - competitive video gaming) and school libraries? How can these two institutions possibly fit together? Esports and school libraries may seem like a bad match, but in reality, each has great potential to enhance the other. Across the country, esports programs, often led by school librarians, are encouraging disenfranchised groups of students to become active members of the school community. Librarians, even with ZERO gaming experience, are perfectly suited to start and grow school based esports programs. We'll introduce you to the benefits of esports, explain how esports teams are aligned to your library program's goals, and walk you through the process of forming a team.
Presented by Lindsay Cesari, Baldwinsville CSD Librarian, and Mary Klucznik, Chittenango High School Librarian.
Undoubtedly you've heard your students talk about Roblox and Fortnite. You may have wondered, "What's the big deal?". Like many concerned adults, you may have even thought, "Shouldn't we steer students away from 'those types' of games?". Not to be confused with competitive eSports, recreational online gaming events are a unique way to meet the Social - Emotional Learning needs of students and simultaneously promote your library program.
Join Bianca Rivera, Library Media Specialist from East Islip, to discuss the benefits of online game play, concerns about privacy and safety, cost ($5 or less!), working with your PTA to organize and market "parties", how to run private servers, and best of all - how to play! This program is ideal for grades 3-8.
Summer is just around the corner and that means summer reading. In these unprecedented times, this means forcing many schools to make changes to their normal plans; many public libraries won't be open, schools have no way of putting physical books in hands, and yet we still want to ensure that students have access to great reading materials. It is clear we are living in unprecedented times and with remote learning and an unsure fall, this makes the role of the librarian more challenging but more important than ever. Whatever the future is, in person, hybrid, or remote learning, MackinVIA can support your role as librarian and promote summer reading and beyond. We'll go over how to use the resource, how to access free content, and how it can support your needs from summer reading to whatever the future is.
Presented by Jessica Gottlieb, Regional Consultant, Mackin
Learn how to use a FREE account to create certificates, posters, postcards, and more! Canva is a great tool to create library displays, certificates for Summer Reading, and can also be used on social media platforms to brag about how amazing your library is.
Presented by Kayla McNaughton, LMS, Setauket Elementary School, Three Village Schools
Join us to learn more about how OverDrive and Sora can support student reading during the COVID shut down and beyond. We will discuss free content, building your own collection, supporting ELA with novel sets and connecting to your library. We will also review the Sora platform and how the tool supports student reading.
Presented by Tracy Waalkes, Account Executive Education Sales, OverDrive
This workshop will introduce you, or remind you, how to use this database to help teachers and student build and share reading lists. We will go over where to find it, how it works, and what some of the nifty tricks are!
Presented by Kayla McNaughton, LMS, Setauket Elementary School, Three Village Schools
Miss a recorded workshop? Click here to peruse our up-to-date video archive.