Skip to Main Content

Meeting Handouts: 2023-2024

Material and links from our Liaison Meetings and Library Leadership Academies

SLS Annual Report Continuing Education Section - year end statistics

Artificial Intelligence (AI) Resources sharing

Image Representing artificial intelligence

LILRC 2023-24 Author talks


 

Fall

August - November

National Lighthouse Day - 08/07/2023

LLA: New Librarian Meetup - 09/13/2023

Welcome to the Region!

We will discuss the services that the Eastern Suffolk BOCES School Library System provides to our component districts as well as answer any questions new librarians may have.

Ed Young Dies September 29, 2023

LLA: Capstone PebbleGo - 10/04/2023

In person event not recorded

Capstone is committed to providing content and tools that demonstrate efficacy and meet accessibility standards to support the needs of all teachers and students. In this session, Capstone will share how PebbleGo, PebbleGo Next, PebbleGo Create, and Capstone Connect promote inquiry based learning, prioritize equity and accessibility, and integrate digital literacy and award-winning nonfiction content in the elementary classrooms and library. PebbleGo, a Tech & Learning award-winning tool, is packed with ready-made resources and content to supplement any curriculum and differentiate the learning experience for students K-8.

Presented by Aurelia Cardamone, Long Island Sales Representative, and Katie Books, Regional Sales Coordinator, Capstone Publishing

LLA: Gale Resources - 10/04/2023

In person event not recorded

At Eastern Suffolk BOCES you have access to a variety of resources available from Gale to support your Elementary aged students. Whether they are learning new research skills in Gale In Context: Elementary School, ready to access higher level reading materials and content types in Gale in Context: Middle School or interested in learning fun Science and Social Studies concepts in National Geographic Kids, we will take a deep dive into these resources and how to best utilize them in your schools.

This will include a complete walkthrough of the resources to explore content types, workflow tools, and interesting features. We will also take a look at and even participate in several of the many online lesson plans and activities available on our support site that are ready-to-use in your library or in the classroom. Join me to learn how to support your students with the Gale resources you have available!

Presented by Lindsay Barfield, Gale Training Consultant

OPALS User's Group Meeting - 10/11/2023

OPALS User Group

In person event not recorded

LLA: Infobase Learn 360 - 10/12/2023

Learn 360, It's More Than Just Video Streaming! This session provides an overview of Learn 360's 190,000+ assets, including a wealth of video, interactives, printables, audio content, maps and flags, and more. Explore the teacher tools for creating playlists, uploading your own videos, sharing content, advanced searching, and the quiz feature to make your videos more interactive. We are also excited to introduce our new Topic Centers to make finding resources even easier for teachers and students!

Presented by Patrick Keane, Customer Success Manager, Infobase Learning

Follett User's Group Meeting - 10/12/2023

Items Covered: 

  • v.20.0 Feature Training
  • Q and A 

Annular Eclipse, Saturday, 10/14/2023

Liaison Meeting - 10/17//2023

Project Look Sharp Logo

In person event not recorded

Given our already overloaded curriculum and the global Infodemic of disinformation, how do we realistically teach all of our students habits of critical thinking about all media messages? This interactive full-day workshop will give librarians the inspiration, theory, models, resources - and some time - for planning how to integrate critical thinking about all mediated information into your work with students and teachers. Chris Sperry, co-founder of Project Look Sharp, co-author of Teaching Students to Decode the World, and Director of New York State's ML3 Initiative: Librarians as Leaders for Media Literacy, will engage participants in a practical model for media decoding that can be integrated at all grade levels and subjects. This question-based approach uses rich media documents - from blogs to books and paintings to Pinterest - to motivate all students to learn core IFC and subject area standards.

LLA: Turnitin's AI detection Technology - 10/19/2023

Turnitin's advanced AI writing detection technology is highly reliable and proficient in distinguishing between AI- and human-written text and is specialized for student writing. What's more, it's integrated into your workflow for a seamless experience. This session will show how it was developed so quickly, how it works and will provide you with many resources to use it successfully in your classroom.

Presented by Heather Simone, Customer Service Manager, Turnitin

Join SLJ on October 12th for SLJ Day of Dialog, the most anticipated librarian gathering of the 2023 Fall and Winter publishing season—fully virtual and free to attend! Our daylong program of author panels, in-depth conversations, and keynote talks will leave you informed, inspired, and entertained. 

Join us on Twitter! #SLJDOD.


 

The AASL National Conference is the only national conference dedicated solely to the needs of school librarians and their roles as educational leaders taking place October 19-21, 2023 in Tampa, Florida.


 

The Long Island BOCES present the Long Island Technology and Education Summit on Friday, October 20, 2023
AUDIENCE: School District Administrators, K-12 Teachers, Technology Directors, School LIbrarians

U.S. Media Literacy Week

United States Media Literacy Week - The mission is to highlight the power of media literacy education and its essential role in education all across the country. U.S. Media Literacy Week October 23-27, 2023 calls attention to media literacy education by bringing together hundreds of partners for events and activities around the country.

LLA: Gale Cengage for Secondary Librarians - 10/24/2023

In person event not recorded

Discover how Gale's Resources can support your Secondary library while Building necessary Literary and Critical Thinking Skills. This session is intended to review resources that are available through Gale and discover how these resources support educational curriculum, with specific examples for the ELA, Social Studies, and Science classrooms, while helping build important skills such as media literacy, digital literacy, and critical thinking in a safe and inclusive environment. Discover new ideas to both introduce and support the use of these resources within your school and dive into premade lessons and activities created with the secondary library and classroom in mind. We will also cover some top tips and tricks for those already familiar with Gale's databases and eBooks to enhance your current use. Finally, we will review "What's New With Gale” to get a full picture of Gale' solutions.

 

LLA: World Book Training - 10/24/2023

In person event not recorded

Join us for an in-depth look at your World Book Online resources. We will do an overview of each product, review new updates, dive into helpful tools and resources, accommodation tools for students, and more to help you get the most out of your World Book resources.

Presented by Lina Gosden, Educational Consultant, World Book

LLA: Lessons. Share. Eat. (SecondaryLevel) - 10/31/2023

Secondary

In person event not recorded

Join us for a Library Leadership Academy focused solely on sharing lesson plans! An important aspect of effective education is creating lesson plans for students. Establishing lesson plans allows teachers to prepare materials, create a timeline for their lessons and form an objective, or overall learning target, for their students. During this workshop, you will have an opportunity to share your own favorite lesson plans with your colleagues. Join us for lunch to keep the discussion going!

LLA: Lessons. Share. Eat. (Elementary Level) - 10/31/2023

Elementary

In person event not recorded

Join us for a Library Leadership Academy focused solely on sharing lesson plans! An important aspect of effective education is creating lesson plans for students. Establishing lesson plans allows teachers to prepare materials, create a timeline for their lessons and form an objective, or overall learning target, for their students. During this workshop, you will have an opportunity to share your own favorite lesson plans with your colleagues. Join us for lunch to keep the discussion going!

nErD Camp Long Island #nErDCampLI

We are thrilled to announce that our 7th #nErDcampLI is Saturday, November 4th!  

For those who are new to nErDCampLI: nErDCampLI is a free literacy “un-conference”. All are welcome, including educators, pre-service educators,  librarians, administrators, authors/illustrators, etc. Sessions are created and facilitated by those in attendance. In past years, nErDCampLI has been well attended and the learning has been unmatched! Please read below for more details about this year’s event.

We will celebrate all things nerdy on Saturday, November 4th at Harley Avenue School in the Elwood UFSD! This year, nErDCampLI will be a half day event.  We will begin at 8:00am with registration/grab-and-go breakfast, which will provide attendees with time to network and create the session schedule for the day.  Following our opening remarks at 9, our day will include three sessions with various opportunities to learn from and with other attendees. Certificates of completion will be given out, on-site, following our closing remarks at around 12:30.  

This year’s nErDCampLI will not include a formal book sale/author and illustrator meet and greet, but we do hope to have some authors and illustrators in attendance.

Please Register Now For #nErDCampLI and share the link with all nerdy friends: nErDCampLI Website 

We are looking forward to a very nerdy day and can’t wait to celebrate NerdVember with all of you! We are eager to learn from and with you!  

The nErDCampLI Planning Committee: (Ali Cascarelli, JoEllen McCarthy, & Kristen Picone)      Twitter: @nErDCampLI

LLA: Britannica School and Britannica Escolar - 11/13/2023

During this session, you will learn new ways to incorporate digital content into your classroom or library with Britannica School and Britannica Escolar.

Presented by Chris Heintz, Education Consultant, Britannica Education

LLA: Building Media Literacy Skills with NewsBank - 11/13/2023

During this session, we will explore both the Access World News and ResearchRocket databases. Access World News, the industry's largest, vetted news collection, teaches students the power of reliable information and demonstrates the importance of a free flow of information in a democratic society. Much more than a collection of newspapers, Access World News connects students to Audio, Video, Transcripts, Magazines, Web-only sources and more! Students will learn to evaluate and analyze information, from varied viewpoints, utilizing NewsBank's balanced political coverage, mainstream and culturally-based publications.

Learn how to uncover these resources, and additional student tools, in this targeted webinar. ResearchRocket is an easy-to-use research database, aimed at K-8 students. Young readers choose their reading level up-front, giving them reliable, digestible results. Sources from around the world present younger researchers with a global perspective. New browse features encourage longer reading sessions. Vetted, grade-appropriate sources help develop critical thinking and problem-solving skills while supporting information literacy. Learn how to navigate ResearchRocket in this short, informative session.

Presented by Ed Yarnell, Senior Field Sales Rep, NewsBank

LLA: NoodleTools for Beginners - 11/16/2023

In person event not recorded

This workshop is a hands-on exploration of NoodleTools, an online service that enables users to build MLA and APA citations and bibliographies. NoodleTools is a wonderful teaching aid for librarians and classroom teachers. It can enhance research skills by providing note taking and outlining features that enable researchers to cull, organize and synthesize information, along with the ability to create papers via Google Docs. NoodleTools can be used to help promote ethical research and critical thinking as well as provide teachers the ability to assess student learning and provide feedback. The beginner session will include activating accounts, creating citations, and the components of a NoodleTools project - sources, notecards and a paper.

LLA: NoodleTools for Intermediate/Advanced Users - 11/16/2023

In person event not recorded

This workshop is a hands-on exploration of NoodleTools, an online service that enables users to build MLA and APA citations and bibliographies. NoodleTools is a wonderful teaching aid for librarians and classroom teachers. It can enhance research skills by providing note taking and outlining features that enable researchers to cull, organize and synthesize information, along with the ability to create papers via Google Docs. NoodleTools can be used to help promote ethical research and critical thinking as well as provide teachers the ability to assess student learning and provide feedback. The intermediate/advanced session will cover sharing and collaboration of NoodleTools projects, managing citations and the teacher's ability to comment on students' research and notecards.

Did you hear the big news?  Our fifth Edcamp Cardigan Camp is scheduled for Saturday, November 18, 2023.  Check out the schedule below and remember to register!

 


NYSCATE'S Annual Conference from November 18-21, 2023. Serving educators from around New York State

Each year NYSCATE sponsors an annual statewide conference attended by 1,500 attendees and 150+ exhibitors showcasing exemplary education applications of technology. Half and full-day hands-on workshops take place on the first two days of the conference. Over 120 presentations by teachers and technology experts are given over the three day period. NYSCATE recruits keynote speakers who are respected experts in their fields.

LLA: Britannica ImageQuest - 11/20/2023

During this session, you will learn new ways to incorporate digital content into your classroom with Britannica ImageQuest.

Presented by Chris Heintz, Education Consultant, Britannica School

LLA: Back to School with Sora - 11/20/2023

Join your Sora team to learn how you can engage your students and support the love of reading. We will dive into the Sora platform, provide best practices and tips to get the word out as well as what's currently available, building your own collection, and supporting your teachers with classroom tools.

LLA: Supporting English Language Learners with FactCite - 11/29/2023

In person event not recorded

Uniondale Senior High School librarian Gail Limmer and ELL teacher Susan Stern will share activities they've done with students. Rounding out the session with be a presentation on best practices to use in building confidence in language learners of all ages and proficiencies. Meet your students where they are and help them master communication and research skills in their new language.

LLA: Learning the Fundamentals of the NYS Science Learning Standards to Facilitate School Librarians Supporting Teachers - 11/29/2023

In person event not recorded

In this workshop K-12 school librarians and their science teacher colleagues will gain an understanding of the New York State Science Learning Standards (NYSSLS). The standards represent a paradigm shift, to students constructing their own understandings with much less memorization of science facts. Students learn by doing science and engineering practices, engaging in discourse, and building understandings of the main ideas in each of the science disciplines.

Presented by Brian Vorwald, retired Science Chairperson and Earth Science Teacher, Sayville Public Schools and Past President of Science Teachers Association of New York State (STANYS)

 

Free Sign Up Button illustration and picture

Use the sign up button for quick access to Frontline for our Liaison Meetings and Library Leadership Academy Workshops

A

A

A

A

Winter

December - February

LLA: Hackersjack - 12/01/2023

Hackersjack is a cybersecurity education company dedicated to educating and empowering young people to identify, avoid, manage and mitigate cyber risks. In this presentation, we will discuss the online risks to K-12 students and present the Hackersjack solution, to include its methodology, curriculum and learning platform.

Presented by Brian Ebert, Chief Strategy Officer, Hackersjack

Sustainable Libraries Initiative Logo

For Immediate Release: December 1, 2023

Ann-Marie Kalin, School Librarian at the Albert G. Prodell Middle School, is Certified Sustainable

LLA: Discover Education Bootcamp - 12/04/2023

In person event not recorded

Discovery Education continues to empower educators with resources, strategies and tools for creating quality lessons using multi-modal digital resources. For Back-to-School, we are combining all that teachers and students love about the DE ecosystem with new content to keep all learners curious and engaged. Join us this Fall at Eastern Suffolk BOCES to learn about the best ways to utilize all that Discovery Education has to offer as well as exciting updated features, synchronous and asynchronous activities, assignment templates, background builder lessons and much more!

Presented by Greg Anderson, Partner Success Manager, Discovery Education

Liaison Meeting - 12/13/2023

In this day long workshop, librarians will gain a foundational understanding of the new Computer Science and Digital Fluency Standards, and learn how to effectively incorporate them into their curriculum. With an increasing reliance on digital technologies, it is essential for students to possess the skills necessary to navigate the digital world safely and productively. Librarians will leave with a variety of lesson ideas and resources that will enable them to align their curriculum with these new standards helping students develop crucial digital literacy, data literacy, and online safety skills. 

Presented by Maria Esposito, Ed.D, Associate Professor, School of Education & Human Services, Molloy University

 

 

 

 

LLA: SAFARI Montage Training for Current Subscribers 01/04/2024

Sneak peek of new features - no recording available

Come check out the latest and greatest new features from SAFARI Montage! We will provide an overview of recent developments, new content, and how to best utilize SAFARI Montage for instruction.

Presented by Diana Ryan Hill, VP of Customer Success, SAFARI Montage

Sustainable Libraries Initiative Logo

For Immediate Release: December 1, 2023

Bonnie Bredes, Center Moriches Middle & High School Librarian, is Certified Sustainable

LLA: SAFARI Montage Overview for Non-Subscribers - 01/15/2024

Looking to save time when compiling your lesson resources? Look no further than SAFARI Montage! This platform is a digital library of resources, where you can find high-quality, standard aligned videos, interactive activities, primary source resources, and more for instruction. These tools can be organized into playlists and shared with students.

Presented by Diana Ryan Hill, VP of Customer Success, SAFARI Montage

SLSA State-wide workshop - 01/17/2024 [change of date]

Some sessions will be recorded and will be posted to view after the event.

Agenda for the Day:

  • 8:30-9:00- Onsite registration and onsite welcoming remarks from hosting system
  • 9:00-9:10- Welcoming remarks from Dr. Jen Cannell, SLSA President
  • 9:10-10:10- Keynote from Dr. Christopher Harris
  • 10:10-10:30- Break
  • 10:30-11:30- Hands On work Session with Dr. Christopher Harris
  • 11:30-12:30- Lunch
  • 12:30-1:30- Parent Panel from Common Sense Media
  • 1:30-2:45- Librarian Panel Discussion/Q&A session
  • 2:45- Closing Remarks from Dr. Jen Cannell. 

Access will be important for the interactive portion. Here are a sample of sites that will be referenced so you can begin the process of asking to have them made available for the day. 

LLA: CQ Researcher - 01/18/2024

Sage CQ Library

Librarians and researchers alike turn to CQ Researcher (CQR) for trusted, accessible content and analysis on newsworthy social and political issues. CQR reports feature authoritative content supporting a range of social science disciplines including political science, public policy, social studies, international affairs, law, economics, health policy, environmental studies, crime, youth issues, and education. The structured, expertly-researched and written reports serve as excellent supporting materials for courses in journalism and composition. Join us for a training session to learn more about this resource and the valuable content it provides.

Presented by Jessica Gradeci, Senior Engagement Partner, Sage Publishing

CQ Researcher Educational Resources for Librarians

ALA announces 2024 Youth Media Awards - 01/22/2024

Monday, January 22, 2024, 8:00 AM (EST)

Link to video recording and PDF Press Release : https://t.co/HBSecwawy5 

LLA: Long Ball on Long Island - 01/23/2024

1,000+ of the Best Baseball Images for Free [HD] - Pixabay

In America, the history of organized professional baseball spans several centuries. It has entertained audiences for centuries and has created lasting memories that continue to be passed from generation to generation. From a conventional perspective, this history revolves around Major League Baseball and the narrative that surrounds this professional organization. From a comprehensive perspective, the history of professional baseball moves past Major League Baseball and includes the many racial, gender and social histories that constitute America's pastime. In addition, professional baseball history is often viewed through a national lens that can overshadow the important local histories of the game.

In this presentation, we will begin to look at the comprehensive history of baseball by looking at our own local baseball history. We will discuss how Long Island's baseball history was a microcosm of the larger national baseball history, and we will look at some of the more significant baseball moments that took place right here on Long Island.

#240123longball

#s-lg-box-31111073

Presented by Fabio Montella, Reference Librarian, Suffolk County Community College

SUNY Suffolk County Community College Logo

Digital Success 101: Conquering Social Media and AI for Middle School Students

  • Jan 29: 9:00-10:00
  • Jan 30: 10:00-11:00
  • Jan 31: 11:00-12:00
  • Feb 1: 12:00-1:00
  • Feb 2: 1:00-2:00

LLA: CANCERcare - 02/07/2024

CancerCare® is the leading national organization dedicated to providing free, professional support services including resource navigationcounselingsupport groupseducational workshopspublications and financial assistance to anyone affected by cancer. Their Long Island office in Deer Park provides all services in person, over the phone, or online.

In this workshop, oncology social workers will provide an overview of their services and how to connect to free resources on Long Island. A discussion on healthy living and cancer screening information will also be provided.

Presented by Marissa Fors, LCSW, OSW-C, C-ASWCM, CCM

LLA: Remember Liss: Enslavement and Espionage in New York - 02/08/2024

In person event not recorded

Meet historian and author Claire Bellerjeau as she reveals the incredible life of an enslaved Black woman from New York named Liss. Born in the 1760s, Liss was enslaved by the Townsend family of Oyster Bay, Long Island, whose son was Robert Townsend aka “Culper, Jr.” - George Washington's lead spy in Manhattan during the Revolutionary War. Mid-war, Liss escaped with a British commander, only to be re-enslaved in Manhattan by another enemy officer. As the Culper Spy Ring used secret codes and invisible ink to smuggle vital information to Washington, Liss may also have engaged in intelligence gathering for the Patriot cause. Liss’s escape with the British, re-enslavement in Manhattan and later Charleston, and her complex struggle for freedom sheds new light on the lives of thousands of other forgotten African Americans during the founding era in New York. 

LLA: Ancestry Classroom - 02/08/2024

In person event not recorded

Discover how exciting a collaborative partnership between a School Library Media Specialist and Social Studies Teacher can be using AncestryClassroom™. AncestryClassroom™ provides educators with access to classroom resources, professional learning tools, and Ancestry® historical record collections at no cost to help students find their personal place in history.

During this professional development session, Susan and Peggy will discuss their entire collaborative process and attendees will leave with a complete inquiry based research unit plan. Now in its fourth year, this research journey has provided students with powerful connections to their own family and has allowed the Social Studies curriculum to come alive in relevant and exciting ways. Access to the AncestryClassroom™ platform will be provided during this training allowing attendees to experience firsthand the myriad of resources available. Susan will also address how to apply for the AncestryClassroom™ grant.

 

For more examples or information, please contact Susan Henke-Brinkman shenkebrinkman@bbpschools.org or Peggy Vallely pvallely@bbpschools.org

 

ESB SLS NOTE: Students don't need to make an account to access the resources, therefore they don't need to have Ed Law 2D approval. 

Presented by: Susan Henke Brinkman - Library Media Specialist & Peggy Vallely - 8th Grade Social Studies Teacher Bayport Blue Point UFSD - James Wilson Young Middle School

LLA: New Features on TeachingBooks - 02/13/2024

TeachingBooks.net logo

Deepen connections to books while discovering new materials to engage readers, support families, and empower colleagues.

Presented by Crystal Ballard, MLS, Implementation & Training Specialist, TeachingBook

Mentioned in the recording:

#240213TeachingBooks

#s-lg-box-31307772

 

LLA: Swank Movie Licensing USA Training - 02/13/2024

Streaming and Licensing for K-12 Schools | Swank Motion Pictures provides comprehensive copyright coverage for showings of films from all of the top Hollywood studios. It is designed to provide streamlined access to film, especially as we see more schools blocking access to teachers' personal streaming sites and a large decrease in access to DVDs and DVD players in classrooms. Teachers can access a movie library to stream movies inside the classroom for face-to-face learning or assign a movie to students for out of class homework or flipped learning assignments. 

Presented by Jacinda Corsi, Copyright Licensing Manager, Swank Movie Licensing USA

LLA: Canva -02/14/2024

Are you interested in learning how to make your library signage, presentations, and lesson plans more engaging? Canva for Education may be just what you need! In this workshop, we will examine how to create projects using templates and add design elements using photos, videos, and AI. We will discuss how to integrate Canva into work with students, as well as discuss new Canva initiatives solely for educators. Enrollees must be signed up for a Canva for Education account prior to this workshop.

Presented by Elizabeth Trapasso, LMS, ES BOCES School Library System

#240214canva

#s-lg-box-31944755

Canva Presentation Slides

LLA: Introduction to AI for Library Media Specialists - 02/14/2024

Artificial Intelligence (AI) is quickly becoming the loudest narrative in education. In this session we will discover how AI can be helpful and what its limitations are, as we explore some AI tools that are currently available. AI promises to revolutionize education in many ways, but as with any new technology, we must thoughtfully evaluate both its potential benefits, and drawbacks, as we move forward.

Presented by Mara Healy, Educational Technology Coach, ES BOCES Model Schools 

#20240214ai

#s-lg-box-31977802

Spring

March - June

Liaison Meeting - 03/07/2024

Pre-meeting Session is "Ready for Success" Grant with Stony Brook University

Breakout sessions to attend during the day:

ASSET’s Annual Technology Conference, held Monday, March 11, 2024 at the Huntington Hilton, has a purpose to enhance teaching and learning in New York school districts through the use of computers and other educational technologies by encouraging the integration of technology into the P-16 curriculum and ensuring that our students are provided with the educational opportunities necessary to prepare them for the future.

LLA: Discover Education Bootcamp - 03/12/2024

In person event not recorded

**THIS IS THE SAME PRESENTATION AS THE DECEMBER WORKSHOP** 

Discovery Education continues to empower educators with resources, strategies and tools for creating quality lessons using multi-modal digital resources. For Back-to-School, we are combining all that teachers and students love about the DE ecosystem with new content to keep all learners curious and engaged. Join us this Fall at Eastern Suffolk BOCES to learn about the best ways to utilize all that Discovery Education has to offer as well as exciting updated features, synchronous and asynchronous activities, assignment templates, background builder lessons and much more!

Presented by Greg Anderson, Partner Success Manager, Discovery Education

 

Below are selected photos from
the 3/15/2024 RFS event


 

Digital Success 201: Conquering Social Media and AI for High School Students

  • March 18: 9:00-10:00
  • March 19: 10:00-11:00
  • March 20: 11:00-12:00
  • March 21: 12:00-1:00
  • March 22: 1:00-2:00

LLA: Books. Share. Eat. (Secondary) - 03/20/2024

In person event not recorded

Derek Ivie, Youth Services Coordinator, Suffolk Cooperative Library System, and Renee McGrath, Manager of Youth Services, Nassau Library System, will discuss their favorite books for the Secondary level. Then you, the librarians, will have an opportunity to share your own favorite titles with your colleagues. Join us for lunch to keep the discussion going!

LLA: Books. Share. Eat. (Elementary) - 03/20/2024

In person event not recorded

Derek Ivie, Youth Services Coordinator, Suffolk Cooperative Library System, and Renee McGrath, Manager of Youth Services, Nassau Library System, will discuss their favorite books for the Elementary level. Then you, the librarians, will have an opportunity to share your own favorite titles with your colleagues. Join us for lunch to keep the discussion going!

OPALS User's Group Meeting - 04/03/2024

OPALS User Group

Topics to be covered at this in-person:

  • Internet Down
  • Latency Issues
  • VRC Database Service
    • Discovery Search
    • Marketing
  • School Year End Procedures
    • Inventory
    • Portal Planning & Assistance
    • Library Brand & Broadcasting

Follett User's Group Meeting - 04/04/2024

Follett User Group

Topics to be covered via Zoom: 

  • What's new in Destiny v.21
  • Destiny Discover Engage
  • What's Coming Ahead
  • What's New in Titlewave
  • Q and A 

Session Recordings

Video 1: Destiny v20 and v21 Feature Training

Video 2: Follett Engage Demo

#s-lg-box-30054320


Total Eclipse, Monday, April 8, 2024


 

LLA: Digital Citizenship - 04/16/2024

Digital Citizenship
In person event not recorded

All students need digital citizenship skills to participate fully in their communities and make smart choices online and in life.” This workshop takes a look at aligning the NYS Computer Science & Digital Fluency Standards and the information students need to be armed with when navigating the world, online. The overarching goals are to have our students use technology responsibly, safely, and for the benefit of society by making ethical and thoughtful choices online centered around respect, education, protection, and community.

Presented by Mara Healy, Educational Technology Coach, ES BOCES Model Schools

LLA: EBSCO Training - 04/16/2024


In person event not recorded

Eastern Suffolk BOCES School Library System provides EBSCO resources for elementary through high school students. Come learn how the students can get the most out of these resources. We will walk through Primary Search on Explora for the elementary students, and the two Biography databases as well as the ABC CLIO databases for the middle school to high school students. We will also look at the available administrative tools and provide suggestions to promote the resources to parents, students, and teachers.

2024 Annual NYLA-SSL Spring Conference

Stories Link Our Past, Present, & Future | May 16-18 2024
Lake Placid Conference Center, Lake Placid, NY

Liaison Meeting - 05/17/2024

Local Authors talk!

 

High School and Beyond Zoom meetup - 05/21/2024

The LILRC and Long Island School Library System's High School and Beyond Interest Group was created to promote discussion and provide a platform where academic, public, and school librarians can share information on the needs of high school students transitioning to college and life. With the conclusion of the Stony Brook University | Libraries "Ready For Success” summit on March 15th, the need for continued conversations is vital for our collective students' success.

Please join us May 21st on Zoom from 12:30 - 1:30 PM for high school librarians and academic librarians to meet up to discuss their 2023-2024 school year.

  • What worked?
  • What did not work?
  • Successes?
  • Challenges?

This will be a helpful sharing opportunity for all those in attendance. We will also plan for a regular monthly conversation during the 2024-2025 school year.

X-Twitter end 03/14/2024