2024-2025
Miss a recorded workshop? Click here to peruse our up-to-date video archive.
This allows for full screen viewing and closed captioning
August - November
Asynchronous Learning Opportunities LibGuides link
We will discuss the services that School Library System provides to our component districts as well as answer any questions new librarians may have.
9:30-10:30 am OR 2:30-3:30 pm
This Zoom event will not be recorded
Secondary: 2:00-3:00pm
Discover resources to support responsive literacy instruction for all readers. Easily vary content, pacing, and outcomes to meet reading readiness. Access and share resources in a variety of formats to meet diverse learning needs and scaffold support.
Presented by Crystal Ballard, Implementation & Training Specialist I, TeachingBooks
Elementary: 3:00-4:00pm
Discover resources to support responsive literacy instruction for all readers. Easily vary content, pacing, and outcomes to meet reading readiness. Access and share resources in a variety of formats to meet diverse learning needs and scaffold support.
Presented by Crystal Ballard, Implementation & Training Specialist I, TeachingBooks
In person event not recorded
Discovery Education continues to empower educators with resources, strategies and tools for creating quality lessons using multi-modal digital resources. For Back-to-School, we are combining all that teachers and students love about the DE ecosystem with new content to keep all learners curious and engaged. Join us this Fall at Eastern Suffolk BOCES to learn about the best ways to utilize all that Discovery Education has to offer as well as exciting updated features, synchronous and asynchronous activities, assignment templates, background builder lessons and much more!
Presented by Greg Anderson, Partner Success Manager, Discovery Education
Join us for a Virtual Review of World Book Online and explore the new enhancements to our platform. We will review the importance of Information Literacy and explore various components: Digital Literacy Visual Literacy Media Literacy Textual Literacy Technological Literacy World Book has updated their platform to include more content, gamification, embedded videos, VR and additional instructional tools which create a fun and engaging environment for students to learn.
Presented by Lina Gosden, Educational Resources Consultant, World Book
News-O-Matic is an online resource tailored for K-8 students, aimed at boosting nonfiction literacy across ELA, Social Studies, and Science curricula. It aligns with both state and national standards, offering content in five reading levels and five languages. Featuring over 15,000 articles and five new daily, News-O-Matic delivers age-appropriate, engaging news coverage that supports teachers in integrating current events into their lessons, enhancing classroom instruction and student learning.
Presented by Brandon Cohen, Chief Partnership Officer, News-O-Matic
Registration for the CLASC Fall Literature conference is open! The conference will be held in-person on Thursday, October 17, 2024 from 8:30 am - 3:30 pm at the Courtyard Marriott Long Island MacArthur Airport, 5000 Express Drive South, Ronkonkoma, NY 11779.
The theme is Reflect & Connect. The keynote speakers will be Todd Strasser and Doug Salati!
Donalyn Miller | The Joy of Reading: Supporting Social Development and Building Background Knowledge Through Wide Reading Research findings show that wide reading can foster the development of positive social behaviors and attitudes, including empathy. Wide reading remains one of the most accessible ways for young people to build background knowledge about topics of personal interest and academic study.
In this session, Donalyn Miller will share research findings, instructional moves, resources, and programming ideas for promoting wide reading. Librarians and library services play a significant role in the literacy development of young people. Through their expertise and the use of library resources, librarians positively influence the implementation and success of evidence-based literacy instruction as defined by NYSED's Literacy Briefs and current research about literacy and libraries.
In this workshop, participants will examine research findings and instructional resources, collaborate with peers, and develop plans for supporting and enhancing students' literacy and social development.
This is a state-wide PD session - see PDF agenda below
As we gear up for the new school year, Encyclopedia Britannica is excited to unveil new features and significant upgrades across Britannica School. From streamlined article navigation to the launch of vibrant interactive media, they're thrilled to showcase what's next. This will be a live demo and Q&A.
Presented by Camille Aguilar, Customer Service Representative, Encyclopedia Britannica
In person event not recorded
This workshop is a hands-on exploration of NoodleTools, an online service that enables users to build MLA and APA citations and bibliographies. NoodleTools is a wonderful teaching aid for librarians and classroom teachers. It can enhance research skills by providing note taking and outlining features that enable researchers to cull, organize and synthesize information, along with the ability to create papers via Google Docs. NoodleTools can be used to help promote ethical research and critical thinking as well as provide teachers the ability to assess student learning and provide feedback. The beginner session will include activating accounts, creating citations, and the components of a NoodleTools project - sources, notecards and a paper.
In person event not recorded
This workshop is a hands-on exploration of NoodleTools, an online service that enables users to build MLA and APA citations and bibliographies. NoodleTools is a wonderful teaching aid for librarians and classroom teachers. It can enhance research skills by providing note taking and outlining features that enable researchers to cull, organize and synthesize information, along with the ability to create papers via Google Docs. NoodleTools can be used to help promote ethical research and critical thinking as well as provide teachers the ability to assess student learning and provide feedback. The intermediate/advanced session will cover sharing and collaboration of NoodleTools projects, managing citations and the teacher's ability to comment on students' research and notecards.
Your Gale resources from NOVELny offer valuable tools and cross-curricular content to develop and enhance learning activities, whether your students are in-person or online. In this session, we will review your Gale Resources (does not include new resources from NOVELny subscription update) and show off collaboration and sharing tools as well as shared best practices for putting content to work for your learners.
Presented by Lindsay Barfield, Training Consultant, Gale
Tune into this engaging webinar as we unveil the new Gale resources available through NOVELny. Dive into a world of possibilities with your new tools for health, small business, reader's advisory, test and career prep, and research as you're shown how to navigate through a variety of resources, access trustworthy content, and make the most of valuable features that will take your students' exploration and discovery to the next level. This webinar provides quick tips for putting these resources to work!
Presented by Lindsay Barfield, Training Consultant, Gale
We are thrilled to announce that our 8th #nErDcampLI is Saturday, November 2nd!
For those who are new to nErDCampLI: nErDCampLI is a free literacy “un-conference”. All are welcome, including educators, pre-service educators, librarians, administrators, authors/illustrators, etc. Sessions are created and facilitated by those in attendance. In past years, nErDCampLI has been well attended and the learning has been unmatched! Please read below for more details about this year’s event.
We will celebrate all things nerdy on Saturday, November 2th at Beach Street Middle School in West Islip and it will be a half day event with an 8:00 AM registration.
Please Register Now For #nErDCampLI and share the link with all nerdy friends: nErDCampLI Website
We are looking forward to a very nerdy day and can’t wait to celebrate NerdVember with all of you! We are eager to learn from and with you!
In person event not recorded
Photos from the day!
This year's conference will be in-person at the Oncenter in Syracuse, New York on November 6-9.
The time is now to recognize that all library workers are leaders! Let's work together across our sections and roundtables as we strive towards sustainable funding; empowering library workers to advocate for their libraries and the communities they serve; and protecting our workers and institutions from continued assaults on intellectual freedom. Our academic, public, school and special libraries, and the people that work and volunteer in them, are the mentors and protectors of the core values of our profession.
Follett User Group
ZOOM from 12:30 -3:00 pm.
If you run the Reports | Library Reports | Collection Statistics - Summary and find Call Numbers with no Copies
To Remove the Phantom Zero Call Number Prefixes in a report
At the 28 minute mark - instructions are provide on how to log into Destiny Admin and turn ON the new Destiny Enhancements for all.
Secondary: 2:00-3:00pm
Discover searching tips that will match titles to readers. Explore and share resources in a variety of formats that deepen connections to books while engaging readers.
Presented by Crystal Ballard, Implementation & Training Specialist I, TeachingBooks
Elementary: 3:00-4:00pm
Discover exceptional texts to support and supplement early literacy instruction. Use TeachingBooks to identify popular picture books by more than a dozen phonics and phonetical awareness classifications. Additionally, you’ll have worksheets for each book to extend reading instruction in the library, home, or classroom.
Presented by Crystal Ballard, Implementation & Training Specialist I, TeachingBooks
OPALS User Group
This meeting will be held in the SCLS Training Room from 12:30 -3:00 pm and will not be recorded.
Please view the Agenda below for more information of the day.
MackinVision is the new whole-school resource and library management system from Mackin. We will explore the dynamic library catalog search system, the simplified interface MackinVision STAR catalog (great for our newest readers), the system administration side where you can track and report on a variety of resources, our LearnPath guides that can help assist school staff in curating various resources, as well as our Teacher Library Portal which gives schools the flexibility to have staff each manage their own respective resources.
Presented by Jessica Donovan, Educational Sales Consultant, Mackin
Elementary
In person event not recorded
Join us for a Library Leadership Academy focused solely on sharing lesson plans! An important aspect of effective education is creating lesson plans for students. Establishing lesson plans allows teachers to prepare materials, create a timeline for their lessons and form an objective, or overall learning target, for their students. During this workshop, you will have an opportunity to share your own favorite lesson plans with your colleagues. Join us for lunch to keep the discussion going!
Secondary
In person event not recorded
Join us for a Library Leadership Academy focused solely on sharing lesson plans! An important aspect of effective education is creating lesson plans for students. Establishing lesson plans allows teachers to prepare materials, create a timeline for their lessons and form an objective, or overall learning target, for their students. During this workshop, you will have an opportunity to share your own favorite lesson plans with your colleagues. Join us for lunch to keep the discussion going!
December - February
We're so excited to provide you with a live demo of our award-winning Sooth.fyi - the only internet search engine specifically designed for students. On Sooth, students search exclusively across the web's most reliable and diverse sources of news, research, and insights without ads, AI chatbots, or dubious content. Our suite of productivity tools and collaboration features accelerate knowledge discovery and digital literacy - in particular, the ESIFC standards!
Our proprietary, human-curated search index comprises billions of pages of the internet's best sources of knowledge that can't be found in those archaic databases. Sooth is the only search platform that displays NewsGuard Trust Scores and AllSides Media Bias Ratings so students know the integrity and bias of the content they're engaging. Sooth is also the only platform with a misinformation toolkit, empowering students and educators to vet, fight, and explore the origins of misinformation in an environment designed to cultivate critical thinking and information literacy skills. Reinvigorate and accelerate your students' quest for knowledge on Sooth.fyi.
Presented by Jeff Walsh, CEO/Founder, Sooth.fyi
Because both English and Spanish share the common ancestry of Latin, there are thousands of cognates, word roots, word formations, and grammatical patterns that will connect your Spanish-speakers to the academic level of English. Other topics include: teaching the patterns of English through games and puzzles, using sentence frames to teach writing, teaching with visuals and kinesthetics, collocations ("go-togethers"), idioms, and transitioning from informal to formal English. Using the ideas that you learn in this workshop will also help you teach your English-speaking students.
Presented by Amy Benjamin, a nationally recognized consultant specializing in improving student performance through literacy and classroom conversation. She has given workshops, courses, and keynotes throughout the United States. Since moving to Long Island in 2018, she has worked with educators in 100+ districts in Nassau and Suffolk counties. She is a member of the professional development network of the National Council of Teachers of English.
Ready to explore Sora, the student reading app? Sora provides you and your students with one-tap access to ebooks, audiobooks, read-alongs and more -- on virtually any device, 24 hours a day. Join us live to discover new opportunities to support your school community and find success with Sora. In this 30-minute session, you'll discover:
• How Sora supports your students' unique needs,
• How to expand your reading program with high-quality digital content,
• What successful Sora schools do!
Presented by Kristen Hein, Account Manager, OverDrive
Link to videocast: TBA
Discover the latest tools, equipment, and platforms that can transform your library into a thriving audio studio for student-led podcasting. Learn how to empower students to create engaging podcasts that inform, entertain, and inspire. From planning and recording to editing and publishing, we'll cover everything you need to know to make podcasting a success in your library.
Presented by Tara Lallbachan, LMS, West Middle School
TBD
Presented by Lina Gosden, Educational Resources Consultant, World Book
10:30-11:30 am OR 2:30-3:30 pm
Hackersjack is a cybersecurity education company dedicated to educating and empowering young people to identify, avoid, manage, and mitigate cyber risks. For all New York schools, specific modules and lessons have been designed to fulfill and exceed New York State Computer Science & Digital Fluency Learning Standards.
Schools receive an educational roadmap that directly correlates to grade bands (K-1, 2-3, 4-6, 7-8 and 9-12) and five key concepts in the new standards (Impacts of Computing, Computational Thinking, Networks & System Design, Cybersecurity and Digital Literacy) Our KinderCyber (grades K-1) and PrimaryCyber (grades 2-3) programs are teacher-led; while our ElementaryCyber (grades 4-6) and MiddleCyber (grades 7-8) programs utilize student, teacher, and administrative dashboards, allowing students to progress individually and educators to track each student's progress. HighSchoolCyber (grades 9-12) contains thought provoking information with links to additional sources of information. It also goes into the basics for a cybersecurity internship and professional career track.
Presented by Ikram Akbar, Hackersjack Founder; Jim Hopper, Managing Director; Paula Visco, Long Island Representative
In person event not recorded
Have you heard about the Science of Reading and wondered what it means for school librarians? Or maybe your school is aligning literacy instruction with the reading research and you are wondering how to support your students and their teachers on this journey. In this session, we will unpack what the Science of Reading is and is not and more importantly, how you can apply it in your school. You will receive an extensive resource handbook including tips, tools, and strategies that you can implement immediately.
FactCite is sponsoring this day of PD, presented by Annemarie Johnson, Educational Literacy Consultant
Join us for a presentation on Beanstack's reading motivation platform, demonstrating how its approach to independent reading using gamification and competition helps schools and districts build a joyful reading culture for students. There will be a look at the context for Beanstack's approach to reading motivation, and a demo of the student and librarian user experience, as well as time for questions!
Presented by Elizabeth Cooper-Mullin, EdTech Sales, Beanstack
Secondary: 2:00-3:00pm
Receive insights, reports, and confidence around the titles you choose for displays, storytimes, book clubs, and more. Book resumes provide you with the book’s bona fides: awards, reviews, genres, reading levels, and more. Collection analysis reports give you insights into diversity, recency, fiction/non-fiction, and more – while also helping you identify titles for possible augmentation.
Presented by Crystal Ballard, Implementation & Training Specialist I, TeachingBooks
Elementary: 3:00-4:00pm
Receive insights, reports, and confidence around the titles you choose for displays, storytimes, book clubs, and more. Book resumes provide you with the book’s bona fides: awards, reviews, genres, reading levels, and more. Collection analysis reports give you insights into diversity, recency, fiction/non-fiction, and more – while also helping you identify titles for possible augmentation.
Presented by Crystal Ballard, Implementation & Training Specialist I, TeachingBooks
Save the date!
A
A
A
A
Use the sign up button for quick access to Frontline for our Liaison Meetings and Library Leadership Academy Workshops
March - June
Booktalking Tips and Suggestions
Join Jen Hubert Swan as she shares some of the techniques that have worked for her during her weekly booktalk sessions with sweet and unruly seventh graders and gives several of her never say die, always leave' em hangin' booktalks. Bring a book with you and she will give you some tips and tricks on talking up that book to your reluctant readers.
Shelf Makeover: Weeding, Selection, Displays
When it comes to weeding your collection, how do you get started? What do you get rid of first? What do you hang onto and hope will come back into fashion (like acid wash jeans?) What do you keep because it's a wardrobe staple? What do you toss because it's so last season? Using principles from the renowned CREW manual and also guidelines from the equally renowned television show What Not to Wear, Jen will provide weeding pointers and emotional support for those of you who just aren't sure about the difference between trash and treasure.
Presented by Jennifer Hubert Swan, Formerly the Director of Library Services and Middle School Librarian at Little Red School House and Elisabeth Irwin High School, currently the Library Department Chair and Upper School Librarian at Hackley School. Professional book reviewer at Horn Book and contributing youth book reviewer for the New York Times.
Save the Date!
TBA
Follett User Group
SAVE THE DATE for the ZOOM
OPALS User Group
SAVE THE DATE
Book Doctor Workshops provide book care training with the aim of helping you keep your collection in circulation longer. Training includes protection and repair techniques and offers a hands-on experience, ideas for protecting books ahead of circulation, and tried-and-true methods for a variety of repairs. Workshops typically cover how to do basic page repairs, tip-ins, hinge and spine repairs, book jacket and laminate applications, and how to reinforce spines. Course notes with links to other free resources such as how-to videos, product directories, and a repair guide will be provided.
Your Book Doctor is Kimberly Young. She's worked in a wide variety of library settings across regionally, socially, and culturally diverse areas of the U.S. Her work focuses on collection development, material processing, and book care. As the Book Doctor, she's traveled the country helping hundreds of attendees build a range of new skills, a better understanding of processing books, and confidence. Kimberly loves meeting all the new people who are as passionate about book care as she is.
May 1-3 2023
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, Fairport, NY
Three keynote speakers:
Save the date!
TBA
