All events were held via Zoom, except May 13, 2022 which was held as a hybrid.
August - November
Asynchronous Learning Opportunities LibGuides link
We will discuss the services that School Library System provides to our component districts as well as answer any questions new librarians may have.
Other Free Digital Notebooks found on Teachers Pay Teachers
OPALS User Group
Follett User Group
Bring your favorite lesson plans and resources to share with other elementary librarians. Every attendee will return to their library with new lesson plans, resources, ideas and inspiration!
This session was not recorded.
Facilitated by Bianca Rivera, LMS East Islip School District
Bring your favorite lesson plans and resources to share with other secondary librarians. Every attendee will return to their library with new lesson plans, resources, ideas and inspiration!
This session was not recorded.
With over 40 years of experience supporting the library and educational markets, Children's Plus Inc. is one of the fastest growing distributors of children's and young adult books in the country. CPI offers you a great choice for building a high quality library collection with the breadth and depth to service all your readers! From curated collections to hand-selected featured titles, PreK to Teen!
Presented by Mark Caldwell, Regional Manager, Children's Plus Inc.
Spark Learning with ProQuest's Online Research Solutions! Join ProQuest Product Manager Larry Wilkner for a high-level overview and live demonstration of the following research databases: CultureGrams, eLibrary, SIRS Discoverer and SIRS Issues Researcher. Learn the common assignments these products support and the various ways to incorporate each of them into your school or district's classroom workflow.
The Regional Institute will feature three terrific presentations. Caroline Fuchs and Heather F. Ball of St. John’s University Libraries will present their research results in “We Need to Talk: Framing Conversations Among K-16 Librarians for Student Success.” Annemarie Gordon and Annesley Gersztoff will discuss the “Sustainable Libraries Initiative Certification Program for School Librarians.” Award winning author, Linda Sue Park will talk about children’s literature with “The Goal of Greater Truth”. At the end of the day there will be grade level and other break-out rooms in which you can chat with your peers about the school year.
The day is sponsored by EBSCO, Lincoln Library Press/FactCite, Read to Them, and Rosen Digital. We thank them for their support. This virtual event is free.
Rosen instructional e-resources provide a bridge between textbook, inquiry and technology. Explore the newly added to the VRC Rosen eBooks including Civic Action, Global Issues, and Social and Emotional Learning. All are tablet, smartphone, and Chromebook compatible and are aligned to NYS Common Core, national, and STEM standards.
Presented by Judi Dzikowski, Associate Director, Digital Learning Solutions, Rosen Publishing
Click image for video
Get FactCited: Social Studies! Are you looking for easy-to-use resources for elementary and middle school researchers? Join FactCite's Librarian Consultant Sheila Tobin Cavooris as she shares engaging social studies projects and lesson ideas using FactCite Lincoln Library Online available through the VRC.
In the ever-changing world, it's important to ensure that libraries represent the students they serve and offer insights and glimpses into other cultures; or offer windows and mirrors. Knowing that libraries need to represent diversity and having the tools to make it happen are not one-and-the-same. This workshop will look at free diversity reporting tools that allow you to analyze your collection on a range of topics as well as provide collection development tools and checks and balances to ensure your library is always reflecting windows and mirrors.
Likewise, we'll have some conversation and discuss around policies and how it's important to have a strong challenge policy in your school and district to protect diversity in your library and protect you as the librarian for bringing materials into your spaces.
Presented by Jessica Gottleib, Educational Sales Consultant, Mackin Education Resources
December - February
NewsBank will cover how ResearchRocket Is designed specifically for primary and middle schools, and how it delivers web-based articles from relevant, age-specific publications through Lexile and grade-level search options. We will point out new content and features that have been added in 2021 and the availability of both full text and image editions. ResearchRocket now also includes international content, ideal for cultivating diverse student perspectives. We will demonstrate how the content supports most subject areas and classroom activities for both students and teachers.
NewsBank will discuss how Access World News Research Collection provides almost 13,000 primary sources from 200 countries. AWNRC supports virtually all subject areas and reading levels and has added new Diversity and Social and Emotional Learning categories in 2021. AWNRC provides support for ELL students and Foreign-language courses by offering today's news in 15 different languages, including Spanish. We will show a sample of the over 200 image edition newspapers including 29 international papers and 6 image editions from NY. We will touch on our Quick Links to "Hot Topics” and "Daily Headline and Lesson Plans.”
The link above will take you to overviews for using TeachingBooks to enhance instruction, engage learners, and stimulate thinking with ready-to-use digital resources. See new features and tools that enhance instructional goals and support reading enjoyment.
• Access for Professionals and Students
• Discover Book and Author Resources
• Develop Custom Reading Lists
• Share Resources to Engage & Excite
• Explore Teaching Ideas
Gale In Context Databases are research tools created to support learners as they build critical thinking and research skills. Cross-curricular content combined with organizational tools such as Highlights and Notes, and a simple user interface helps learners feel confident as they explore. In this webinar we will review the tools and features available within your NOVELny Gale In Context Databases, as well as the simple design and workflow. Recent enhancements, Social Emotional Learning, and DEI will be highlighted as well!
Gale in Context Databases provide cross-curricular content combined with organizational tools that support students and educators as they explore and learn the importance of media literacy. In this webinar we will take a deep dive into the tools available within Gale In Context, and how to effectively connect and collaborate with other educators in your building. Recent enhancements, Social Emotional Learning, and DEI will be highlighted as well!
Presented by Meg Moulton, Educational Consultant, Gale
Please see LLA: Gale in Context 101 (for beginner users) - 12/07/2021 for links
Join us for an in-depth look at your World Book Online resources. We will do an overview of each product, review new updates, dive into helpful tools and resources, accommodation tools for students, and more to help you get the most out of your World Book resources.
Join us for this webinar and learn new and easy ways to incorporate digital content into your classroom or library using Britannica School, Britannica Escolar, and ImageQuest.
Click image for video
Join us for a tour of EBSCOhost and Explora, EBSCO’s engaging interface designed to support student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality. We'll use these interfaces to discover journals, magazines, newspapers, and primary source documents available in EBSCO databases, and review custom functionality like Lexile limiters, curriculum standards, and COPPA-compliant personal folders to organize student research.
Link to videocast: https://ala.unikron.com/
Click image for video
An introduction and exploration to NoodleTools, an online service that enables students/researchers to gather and organize resources, while simply and easily building MLA and APA citations and bibliographies. This session will include activating accounts, creating citations, and the components of a NoodleTools project - sources, notecards and a paper.
Click image for video
A deeper exploration into NoodleTools, an online service that enables students/researchers to gather and organize resources, while simply and easily building MLA and APA citations and bibliographies. This session will cover sharing and collaboration of NoodleTools projects, managing citations and the teacher's ability to comment on students' research and notecards.
March - June
Podcasting has become an amazing new platform for both entertainment and professional development. In this presentation, Chris DeCristofaro, Head of Digital Services at Sachem Public Library, and creator and co-host of The Library Pros podcast with over 40,000 downloads will go over what it takes to create a podcast from the ground up.
Click image for video
Discovery Education is excited to provide a deep dive into the newest features of the Discovery Education Experience. Discovery Education Experience is a simple-to-use K-12 learning platform that combines dynamic curated curriculum resources with on-demand teaching strategies, personalized for your needs as an educator. Participants will explore the latest enhancements (such as Quiz and Ready-To-Use Activities) and other features offered.
Presented by Greg Anderson, Partner Success Manager, Discovery Education
Click image for video
Library Media Specialists have a unique role to play in creating and supporting authentic, inquiry-based, digital-age learning experiences for English Language Learners (ELLs). Learn how to design your own digital-age learning ecosystem that opens the door to active learning for all ELLs regardless of proficiency level. Incorporate digital learning resources (DLRs) that allow English learners to conduct research and complete project-based activities whether working in-person, virtually, or in a hybrid setting. Essential practices for teaching and assessing English Learners will be shared.
Presented by Heather Rubin, Administrative Coordinator
Click image for video
Wampum
Click image for video
The Youth Services Department of Suffolk Cooperative Library System will discuss their favorite children's fiction and non-fiction titles.
Presented by Darla Salva Cruz, Youth Services Consultant for SCLS
Click image for video
The Youth Services Department of Suffolk Cooperative Library System will discuss their favorite teen fiction and non-fiction titles.
Presented by Derek Ivie, Youth Services Coordinator for SCLS, and Darla Salva Cruz, Youth Services Consultant for SCLS.
Click image for video
Swank K12 Streaming provides access to movies and documentaries for educational use, making it easy for teachers to stream movies in class for instruction or assign to students for viewing outside of class. With a library of over 30,000 movies and documentaries like 12 Angry Men, Selma, Inside Out and Bill Nye the Science Guy, Swank K12 Streaming solves for common obstacles teachers face including limited DVD players in classrooms and blocked personal streaming sites within schools.
Join us for a demonstration of the streaming platform to see how Swank creates a convenient and legal access to a movie streaming library for K-12 schools and districts!
Presented by: Courtney Mach, Business Development Manager, Swank Motion Pictures, Inc
Library Media Specialists have a unique role to play in creating and supporting authentic, inquiry-based, digital-age learning experiences for English Language Learners (ELLs). Learn how to design your own digital-age learning ecosystem that opens the door to active learning for all ELLs regardless of proficiency level. Incorporate digital learning resources (DLRs) that allow English learners to conduct research and complete project-based activities whether working in-person, virtually, or in a hybrid setting. Essential practices for teaching and assessing English Learners will be shared.
Presented by Heather Rubin, Administrative Coordinator, L.I. RBERN
Dear friend to those in the region representing Mackin and in the past Follett, he will be missed.
Click image for video
Digital Theatre+ brings the world of Theatre to you and your students. Enabling them to experience a diverse range of productions and draw inspiration from the best Theatre companies from The West End to Broadway and everywhere in between! DT+ is a platform for all voices in theatre and literature. The platform aims to be representative and inclusive so students will find interviews and productions that speak to them. In addition to being your online go-to resource for English Literature, DT+ provides engaging learning materials that can be used by your colleagues in other departments and are perfect for cross-curricular learning.
Presented by Natalie O'Loughlin, District Partner Manager, Digital Theatre+
Are you or your students new to video editing? In this webinar, you will discover how easy it is for you or your students to pull together a video in WeVideo. This workshop is great for beginners, who will learn how to make an informative video including captions, soundtracks, themes and more, in just minutes! You can edit anywhere, anytime with WeVideo's web-based platform!
Presented by Mia Lafata, Model Schools, ES BOCES
OPALS User Group
Learn how to get a FREE Edu account to create worksheets, graphic organizers, certificates, posters, postcards, and more! Canva is a great tool to create library displays, certificates for Summer Reading, and can also be used on social media platforms to brag about how amazing your library is.
Presented by Kayla McNaughton, School Library Media Specialist, Hiawatha Elementary School
As you are well aware, the number of public inquiries into school library collections are on the rise. These incidents are not limited to just the school library program, but rather impact the district at all levels, from the Board of Education, to administrators, teachers, and the community.
To best prepare and respond to concerns around materials, it is important for all district stakeholders to have a shared understanding of the importance of supporting a diverse and representative collection, as well as the legal foundations and policy and procedures in place to respond.
The School Library Systems Association and New York Library Association's Section of School Librarians is pleased to present a free, full day workshop that brings together experts in the field to have dialogue and shared work time to help districts prepare.
We will be joined by:
They will present from the lenses of intellectual freedom, the legal foundations, and the policy supports in place to help districts respond. We will also be sharing out the new Board of Education Policies around the selection and reconsideration of school library materials currently being worked on by the Erie 1 team along with School Library System administrators and other stakeholder
Honoring Melanie Keller
for Moving Beyond Expectations
at Eastern Suffolk BOCES
A
A
A
A
