Miss a recorded workshop? Click here to peruse our up-to-date video archive.
This allows for full screen viewing, closed captioning
August - November
Asynchronous Learning Opportunities LibGuides link
We will discuss the services that School Library System provides to our component districts as well as answer any questions new librarians may have.
Click on Image for video
Learn how to use Twine, an online tool that lets writers create text adventures, which are interactive, nonlinear stories (like Choose Your Own Adventure stories). See how Twine can be used in place of standard creative writing assignments for grades 6+. Knowledge of coding is not necessary, but some basic coding will be shown to make stories more engaging.
Presented by Bianca Rivera, LMS, East Islip School District
Click on Image for video
Teachers have been contributing to TikTok in a big way! Come get some great ideas for things you can do in your classroom and libraries, with your phone, and much more. This session will have you joining TikTok in no time!
Presented by Kathy Schrock. Kathy has been a school district Director of Technology, an instructional technology specialist, an adjunct education professor, and a middle school, academic, museum, and public library librarian. She is currently teaching online graduate courses for Wilkes University as part of the Wilkes-Discovery Masters program. In addition to teaching online, Kathy writes, speaks, blogs, tweets, and conducts professional development workshops, presentations, and keynotes throughout the world. She is known for her practical presentations dealing with pedagogically sound practices for the embedding of technology seamlessly into teaching and learning.
Video no longer available
ClickView brings a fresh approach to educational video defined by academically rigorous, stylistically varied, and fresh content. ClickView pairs short, engaging videos with ready-made interactive quizzes and resources to support teachers across all grades and subjects with outstanding video for their lessons. Teachers will also experience a new standard in formative assessment analytics, with dashboards that provide deep and practical insights into how students are engaging with shared content.
Presented by Paula Visco, Consultant, ClickView
Discover the many resources in World Book that provide students with reliable information. Learn how to help students of all ages have fun learning different subjects through the many games, quizzes, and hands-on activities found throughout World Book Online.
Presented by Megan Crowley, Director of Training, World Book, Inc
Click on image for video
Passcode: W+1C9TUn
As a curriculum and instructional resource, Gale In Context: For Educators equips educators with powerful, standards-aligned lesson plans and content from thousands of high-quality sources. Supporting all curriculum areas, your budget dollars stretch further with this digital resource that offers tools to differentiate learning and improve cross-curricular collaboration among educators.
With embedded mental health resources and diverse content, For Educators helps schools meet students' needs today, while also offering career and life skills readiness for whatever comes next. Join Gale at this session to see For Educators in action.
Presented by Megan Fileccia, K-12 Strategic Account Manager, Gale Cengage
In person event not recorded
The Discovery Educator Network (DEN) Ambassador Program fosters teacher leadership, builds capacity, and grows community by empowering educators to share their learning with their peers. The program materials support the integration of digital media and technology into the teaching practice and provide a platform for emerging leaders to collaborate. This program is designed to train participants to become their own District Ambassador Leaders and to encourage them to run the DEN Ambassador program in their own districts.
Presented by Greg Anderson, Partner Success Manager, Discovery Education
Click on image for video
“Back to School with Sora!” ~ Join your Sora team to learn how you can engage your students and support the love of reading. We will dive into the Sora platform, provide best practices and tips to get the word out as well as what’s currently available, building your own collection, and supporting your teachers with classroom tools.
Libraries offer tremendous opportunities to provide early and struggling readers with access to tools and resources that lead to skilled reading. This webinar presents the following topics: The current literacy challenges, how we learn to read, and ways to support those competencies through library activities; The different resources that help children learn to read, what decodable books are, and how decodable books support and supplement reading instruction; Implementing a collection of decodable books and what that involves from a librarian perspective.
Presenters:
OPALS User Group
In person event not recorded
Follett User Group
VIDEO no longer available
Because both English and Spanish share the common ancestry of Latin, there are thousands of cognates, word roots, word formations, and grammatical patterns that will connect your Spanish-speakers to the academic level of English. Other topics include: teaching the patterns of English through games and puzzles, using sentence frames to teach writing, teaching with visuals and kinesthetics, collocations ("go-togethers"), idioms, and transitioning from informal to formal English. Using the ideas that you learn in this workshop will also help you teach your English-speaking students.
Presented by Amy Benjamin. Amy is a nationally recognized consultant specializing in improving student performance through literacy and classroom conversation. She has given workshops, courses, and keynotes throughout the United States. Since moving to Long Island in 2018, she has worked with educators in 100+ districts in Nassau and Suffolk counties. She is a member of the professional development network of the National Council of Teachers of English.
This is a follow-up workshop to the September Twine 101 presentation. You did not need to attend Twine 101, but you do need basic knowledge of using Twine as this workshop will go more in depth.
Presented by Bianca Rivera, LMS, East Islip School District
**EVENT WAS NOT RECORDED**
In the ever-changing world, it's important to ensure that libraries represent the students they serve and offer insights and glimpses into other cultures through windows and mirrors. Knowing that libraries need to represent diversity and having the tools to make it happen are not one-and-the-same.
This workshop will look at free diversity reporting tools that allow you to analyze your collection on a range of topics as well as provide collection development tools and checks and balances to ensure your library is always reflecting windows and mirrors.
We'll look at some of the work being done around diversity and, in this world of book challenges, how you can take some steps to ensure you are choosing titles that are right for your age group. Students represent a diverse group of interests and learning styles and there are steps that you can take to ensure your library supports all of these types of interests and learning styles.
From thinking about accessibility, to book choices, looking at genres, and even evolving your library past the traditional sense to make it a hub for more types of learning and engagement, the library truly can and should be the heart of any school.
Presented by Jessica Gottlieb, Educational Sales Consultant, Mackin
**EVENT WAS NOT RECORDED**
How do you identify your edtech passion? Kathy can help! She will showcase the aspects of educational technology used to support meaningful teaching and learning she cares deeply about. She will provide a wide array of practices, pedagogies, and thought-provoking uses of technology by educators and students. From cool gadgets to embedding technology, and everything in-between, you will come away with a plan of how you can focus on "doing what you love” in the edtech arena!
Presented by Kathy Schrock. Kathy has been a school district Director of Technology, an instructional technology specialist, an adjunct education professor, and a middle school, academic, museum, and public library librarian. She is currently teaching online graduate courses for Wilkes University as part of the Wilkes-Discovery Masters program. In addition to teaching online, Kathy writes, speaks, blogs, tweets, and conducts professional development workshops, presentations, and keynotes throughout the world. She is known for her practical presentations dealing with pedagogically sound practices for the embedding of technology seamlessly into teaching and learning.
This workshop is a hands-on exploration of NoodleTools, an online service that enables users to build MLA and APA citations and bibliographies. NoodleTools is a wonderful teaching aid for librarians and classroom teachers. It can enhance research skills by providing note taking and outlining features that enable researchers to cull, organize and synthesize information, along with the ability to create papers via Google Docs. NoodleTools can be used to help promote ethical research and critical thinking as well as provide teachers the ability to assess student learning and provide feedback.
The beginner session will include activating accounts, creating citations, and the components of a NoodleTools project - sources, notecards and a paper.
This workshop is a hands-on exploration of NoodleTools, an online service that enables users to build MLA and APA citations and bibliographies. NoodleTools is a wonderful teaching aid for librarians and classroom teachers. It can enhance research skills by providing note taking and outlining features that enable researchers to cull, organize and synthesize information, along with the ability to create papers via Google Docs. NoodleTools can be used to help promote ethical research and critical thinking as well as provide teachers the ability to assess student learning and provide feedback.
The intermediate/advanced session will cover sharing and collaboration of NoodleTools projects, managing citations and the teacher's ability to comment on students' research and notecards.
Come explore the future of library management systems: Accessit Library exclusively from Mackin. Learn how Accessit Library delivers easy and precise access to a school's or district's library catalog and is an essential part of its successful operation. Implementation of Accessit Library creates an environment where the library becomes the trusted hub that connects and integrates a school's existing systems. Accessit Library offers a truly customizable and engaging patron experience to connect patrons to resources, curriculum and so much more.
**THIS WAS NOT RECORDED**
Presented by Jessica Gottlieb, Educational Sales Consultant, Mackin
As of February 12, 2023 the Accessit software will be sold by Follett School Solutions
Come see the latest automation software from The Library Corporation - LS2 which is fully web-based and hosted for you in the Oracle cloud. The landing page offers easy customization of the welcome message, image, and the carousel which enables you to advertise new or featured items. Unlimited configurations, mean you are free to create pages for each department or site with all information available at a glance with intuitive navigation. AR and Lexile Scores are presented as standard and can be searched by range and you can download e-books directly from the OPAC.
**THIS WAS NOT RECORDED**
December - February
Looking for hot new books that will engage your students? Be inspired with ideas from professional booktalker, Deborah Salyer, in a fast-paced session, sponsored by TeachingBooks. You'll also discover easy-to-use resources you can share tomorrow. Participants will receive a resource-filled list of new titles for PreK-Grade 6.
Presented by Deborah Salyer, Implementation and Training Specialist, TeachingBooks and also a senior presenter for BER.org.
By engaging students in problem and project based learning, impacting their emotions, causing them to question and think about controversial topics, and presenting content in the form of visuals and stories, research shows that students more often retain content and turn it into personal knowledge. By infusing the information literacy skill set as the common thread across the content areas, students have the foundation they need to succeed. Learn how the team of classroom teacher, teacher librarian, and technology teacher can work together to create and teach lessons that intertwine these literacies.
Presented by Kathy Schrock. Kathy has been a school district Director of Technology, an instructional technology specialist, an adjunct education professor, and a middle school, academic, museum, and public library librarian. She is currently teaching online graduate courses for Wilkes University as part of the Wilkes-Discovery Masters program. In addition to teaching online, Kathy writes, speaks, blogs, tweets, and conducts professional development workshops, presentations, and keynotes throughout the world. She is known for her practical presentations dealing with pedagogically sound practices for the embedding of technology seamlessly into teaching and learning.
While school librarians and their supporters understand the importance of a school library it is imperative that we reach out to our colleagues, parents, and patrons who don't usually use the library. Learn tips and tricks on how to perfect your elevator pitch, form strong collaborations, and promote the library's collection and programs to your school community.
Presented by Arlene LaVerde, Adjunct Professor, Graduate School of Library and Information Studies, Queens College, City University of New York.
The School Library System (SLS) of Genesee Valley BOCES, an educational services agency supporting 22 small, rural school districts in Western New York, is honored to announce the release of a national resource for advancing understanding around the many roles of school librarians. "The Day the Librarians Disappeared" is an eBook developed in partnership with GapingVoid, a culture design firm, and made possible in part by a National Leadership Grant through the Institute of Museum and Library Services [LG-250060-OLS-21]. The eBook is available online and has been released under a Creative Commons license to allow free use in libraries across the country.
In 2021, the SLS received a two-year National Leadership Grant through the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the federal funding agency for museums and libraries. The Libraries.Today project was established to investigate the shifting roles of school librarians during the pandemic. Dr. Christopher Harris, Director of the School Library System of Genesee Valley BOCES, is serving as the principal investigator for the grant. The first national forum for the Libraries.Today project was held in May, 2022. The forum included interactive discussions that collected evidence of the amazing work undertaken by school librarians during school shutdowns and in the changed educational setting as the pandemic progressed. A report from the forum is available on the grant website.
The publishing world is rapidly expanding its offerings of diverse books for young people. In this online seminar, Kathleen will introduce outstanding fiction with diverse characters in terms of race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity, and more for grades 6-8.
She will suggest useful resources, and participants will have a chance to exchange ideas briefly with fellow educators. Each participant will receive a practical handout with additional titles, annotated lists, and resources.
Presented by Kathleen Odean. Kathleen has been giving lively, well-received presentations on recommended new young adult books for two decades after working for 17 years as a youth librarian in public and school libraries. She chaired the 2002 Newbery Award Committee for A Single Shard and served on earlier Caldecott and Newbery committees. She has taught children's/YA lit as an adjunct at the University of Rhode Island and online at Mansfield University. Kathleen has reviewed for School Library Journal, Booklist, Teacher-Librarian and Kirkus. She currently reviews children's and YA books for The Providence Journal.
Virtual Reality technologies have enormous potential to expose students to a world of rich learning experiences. From visiting the ancient pyramids of Egypt to traveling to the moon to learn about its craters, VR can create enormous opportunities, but not without some challenges. The focus of this workshop is to demystify the technology, share great learning stories in addition to some of the challenges and opportunities there are when implementing these technologies.
Presented by Travis Felder, Found and CEO of TechRow
The school library is for everyone. Learn how to build a collection of materials that represent the various populations of your school community and the world around them. We will discuss the importance of a diversity audit, a collection development policy as well as #ownvoices and the promotion of the school collection.
Presented by Arlene LaVerde, Adjunct Professor, Graduate School of Library and Information Studies, Queens College, City University of New York.
We are in an exciting golden age for diversity in young adult books. In this online seminar, Kathleen will introduce outstanding fiction with diverse characters in terms of race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity, and more for grades 9-12.
She will suggest useful activities and websites, and participants will have a chance to discuss books briefly with fellow educators. Each participant will receive a practical handout with additional titles, annotated lists, and resources.
Presented by Kathleen Odean. Kathleen has been giving lively, well-received presentations on recommended new young adult books for two decades after working for 17 years as a youth librarian in public and school libraries. She chaired the 2002 Newbery Award Committee for A Single Shard and served on earlier Caldecott and Newbery committees. She has taught children's/YA lit as an adjunct at the University of Rhode Island and online at Mansfield University. Kathleen has reviewed for School Library Journal, Booklist, Teacher-Librarian and Kirkus. She currently reviews children's and YA books for The Providence Journal.
Nonfiction for young people has been improving for the last fifteen years. In the past few years it has also become increasingly diverse in many ways including content and authors. While not much poetry gets published for grades 6-12, more diverse voices are appearing in print.
Kathleen will introduce excellent diverse nonfiction and poetry books for grades 6-12, highlighting useful related resources. Participants will exchange ideas briefly with fellow educators. Each participant will receive a practical handout with additional titles, annotated lists, and resources.
Presented by Kathleen Odean. Kathleen has been giving lively, well-received presentations on recommended new young adult books for two decades after working for 17 years as a youth librarian in public and school libraries. She chaired the 2002 Newbery Award Committee for A Single Shard and served on earlier Caldecott and Newbery committees. She has taught children's/YA lit as an adjunct at the University of Rhode Island and online at Mansfield University. Kathleen has reviewed for School Library Journal, Booklist, Teacher-Librarian and Kirkus. She currently reviews children's and YA books for The Providence Journal.
Discovery Education continues to empower educators with resources, strategies and tools for creating quality lessons using multi-modal digital resources. For Back-to-School, we are combining all that teachers and students love about the DE ecosystem with new content to keep all learners curious and engaged.
Presented by Greg Anderson, Partner Success Manager, Discovery Education
In person event not recorded
Children’s magazines have long offered students a fun, visual reading experience to learn about the world they live in. But with so much pressure to teach to standards, and for Library Media Specialists to help support teachers in their grade level curriculums, time allotted for reading children’s magazines during school hours may be hard pressed. How do we as Librarians balance our student’s need to read for fun and enjoyment while also supporting teachers with their curricular goals and demands? Kids Discover has the solution with Kids Discover Online.
Join Kids Discover CEO Ted Levine as he walks through the company’s evolution from Children’s magazine to multimedia platform provider, and see firsthand how Kids Discover Online supports curriculum-related subject matter with interactive content and a reading experience that will pique students’ inherent curiosity and love of learning.
Presented by Kids Discover President & CEO Ted Levine
Explore the four domains of this incredible database, CultureGrams, and see why they describe their information as an, "Insiders' Perspectives on Daily Life and Culture.
Presented by Javier Reyes and Larry Wilkner, ProQuest CultureGrams
Click on Image for video
This program will look at the MLA 9 citation style and how it differs from other popular citation styles. We will address the straightforward process of creating MLA 9 citations and how this approach is geared to better serve us in the information age. We will also discuss students' perceptions of the citation process (it's not just about plagiarism) and how we can guide them to better understand the value of citing.
Presented by Fabio Montella, Associate Professor of Library Services, Suffolk County Community College
A
A
A
A
March - June
Join us for a Library Leadership Academy focused solely on Book Talks! Derek Ivie and Darla Salva Cruz, Youth Services at SCLS, will discuss their favorite books for Secondary levels. Then you, the librarians, will have an opportunity to share your own favorite titles with your colleagues. Join us for lunch to keep the discussion going!
Join us for a Library Leadership Academy focused solely on Book Talks! Derek Ivie and Darla Salva Cruz, Youth Services at SCLS, will discuss their favorite books for Elementary levels. Then you, the librarians, will have an opportunity to share your own favorite titles with your colleagues. Join us for lunch to keep the discussion going!
Podcasting has proven to be an effective medium for exploring and discussing very specialized topics. This session will focus on the podcast The Long Island History Project and how it helps educate listeners on Long Island history while promoting the importance of research, preservation, and cultural heritage institutions.
On February 5th, 1946, the Ferguson brothers were concluding a night out celebrating Charles Ferguson’s reenlistment in the Army. As Charles wearing his military uniform, walked with his brothers Alphonso, Joseph, and Richard towards the Freeport Bus Terminal to go home, provisional Freeport police officer Joseph Romeika stopped the brothers over a disorderly conduct complaint. Words were exchanged, and Officer Romeika killed Charles and Alphonso and shot Joseph within minutes of the initial stop. Following the unarmed shooting of the Ferguson brothers, Romeikia was acquitted despite changing stories of eyewitnesses. The shooting would be encapsulated as one of the cornerstones of the American Civil Rights movement and immortalized in a Woody Guthrie protest song.
Presented by Christopher Verga. Chris is an instructor in Long Island History and Foundations of American History at Suffolk Community College and an Adjunct Professor at John Jay College of Criminal Justice. Christopher’s published works include “Civil Right Movement on Long Island” (Arcadia, 2016), “Saving Fire Island From Robert Moses” (History Press, 2019), “World War II and the Long Island Home Front” (History Press, 2021), "Cold War Long Island" (History Press, 2021) and “The Ferguson Brothers Lynchings on Long Island: A Civil Rights Catalyst” (History Press, 2022). Verga has his educational doctorate from St John’s University. His dissertation work included Southern New England Algonquian nations and the impact of tribal recognition within their cultural identity.
DBQ's for classroom use
ClickView brings a fresh approach to educational video defined by academically rigorous, stylistically varied, and fresh content. ClickView pairs short, engaging videos with ready-made interactive quizzes and resources to support teachers across all grades and subjects with outstanding video for their lessons. Teachers will also experience a new standard in formative assessment analytics, with dashboards that provide deep and practical insights into how students are engaging with shared content. ClickView is:
• Designed for the classroom: Nothing replaces great teaching. But the right video, at the right time can make a great lesson unforgettable. ClickView designs and produces thoughtful, stunning videos with one objective: supporting teachers and learners with quality content.
• Short, sharp, and current: Most students lose focus after 4 minutes of viewing. ClickView carefully balances length, learning outcomes, and relevance to engage students without losing their attention.
• Versatile: As students mature, so do their video preferences. ClickView gives teachers a diverse range of formats including animation, interview, and experiential video to keep content fresh and interesting for all grade levels.
• Vetted and ready-made: ClickView videos come with expertly produced interactive versions. These fully vetted activities are perfect for formative assessment and give teachers real-time insights into student learning and engagement. Presented by Paula Visco, Consultant, ClickView
When we talk about equity, we often forget to talk about making sure all students have access to the same information. This presentation focuses on learning about what information privilege and equity are, how we can combat information inequity, and ways to ensure all students have equal access to information.
Presenter: Elissa Malespina is a certified teacher and librarian. She presently works as a Teacher Librarian and Technology Coordinator at Union High School, and is a Board of Education Member for the South Orange-Maplewood School District. Having worked in the field of education for over 23 years, as a High School History Teacher, Special Education Teacher, and Coordinating Supervisor of Educational Technology, Elissa has amassed a myriad of skills that have been instrumental in helping her work with students, teachers, and school districts. Elissa has written many publications and is the recipient of numerous awards. Her most recent accolades include being named a "2022 Mover and Shaker" by Library Journal and being honored as a "Top 100 EDTech Influencer" by EdTech Digest.
Creative Commons
ChatGPT 
In today's world of enhanced information sharing, traditional scholarly publishing works alongside models of free, expanded and open-access resources. In this workshop, we will look at the various information sharing models and their specific attribution requirements. In addition, we will look at how the expansion of information sharing has made academic integrity standards more vital than ever before, and how academic integrity can be successfully addressed in your classroom.
Presented by Fabio Montella, Associate Professor of Library Services, and Naomi Edwards Ph.D., English Professor, Suffolk County Community College
Information below has been posted by Eastern Suffolk BOCES School Library System
Join us for a hands-on workshop featuring a new online resource for librarian-teacher collaboration. Participants will be introduced to ConsidertheSourceNY.org which contains thousands of primary sources and librarian and teacher-created learning activities designed to engage your students in historical thinking using local primary sources. All materials are free and aligned to the NYS Learning Standards. Significant time will be given for learning activity creation and exploration of the website.
Presented by Jordan Jace, Assistant Director, Education and Development, Considerthesourceny.org
OPALS User Group
In person event not recorded
Follett User Group
In this workshop, librarians will gain a foundational understanding of the new Computer Science and Digital Fluency Standards, and learn how to effectively incorporate them into their curriculum. With an increasing reliance on digital technologies, it is essential for students to possess the skills necessary to navigate the digital world safely and productively. Librarians will leave with a variety of lesson ideas and resources that will enable them to align their curriculum with these new standards helping students develop crucial digital literacy, data literacy, and online safety skills.
Presented by Maria Esposito, Ed.D, Associate Professor, School of Education & Human Services, Molloy University
Bibliotherapy (biblio means books) provides an opportunity for those who love literature to use it as a vehicle for helping children to deal with the problems of everyday living.
It can be used by a therapist in a professional setting or informally by parents, grandparents, librarians or teachers. Any trusted adult can read to or with a child and accomplish the goal of explaining a difficult subject, such as death, divorce, or illness and help the child deal with his or her feelings. In this hands-on workshop, Ms. Lanton will show picture books on various subjects and lead a discussion of the most effective ways to utilize them.
Presented by Sandy Lanton, a former teacher, earned a BA in Psychology and an MS in Early Childhood Education from Queens College.
She is the author of picture books DADDY'S CHAIR, LOTS OF LATKES, STILL A FAMILY: A YOUNG CHILD'S STORY ABOUT DIVORCE, THE LITTLEST LEVINE and a chapter book, THE HAPPY HACKERS. Another picture book, LILY BLUE RIDING HOOD, will be published in February 2023. Her work has also appeared in magazines such as Appleseeeds, Hopscotch, and Junior Scholastic as well as several anthologies.
When she isn't writing or visiting schools, she enjoys line dancing, crocheting, playing bridge and reading, reading, reading.
***THIS IS A REPEAT OF THE NOVEMBER 1, 2022 WORKSHOP FOR THOSE THAT MISSED IT***
Because both English and Spanish share the common ancestry of Latin, there are thousands of cognates, word roots, word formations, and grammatical patterns that will connect your Spanish-speakers to the academic level of English. Other topics include: teaching the patterns of English through games and puzzles, using sentence frames to teach writing, teaching with visuals and kinesthetics, collocations ("go-togethers"), idioms, and transitioning from informal to formal English. Using the ideas that you learn in this workshop will also help you teach your English-speaking students.
Presented by Amy Benjamin. Amy is a nationally recognized consultant specializing in improving student performance through literacy and classroom conversation. She has given workshops, courses, and keynotes throughout the United States. Since moving to Long Island in 2018, she has worked with educators in 100+ districts in Nassau and Suffolk counties. She is a member of the professional development network of the National Council of Teachers of English.
"Read-i-cide n: The systematic killing of the love of reading, often exacerbated by the inane, mind-numbing practices found in schools." ~Steinhous Publishing. Follow me on my journey in building a culture of reading in a NYC public high school, though promotions, events, book clubs and social media. Hear about the pitfalls to avoid and the success to strive for. Reading Culture is an ongoing and ever-changing practice.
Presented by Arlene LaVerde, Adjunct Professor, Graduate School of Library and Information Studies, Queens College, City University of New York.
Please join the School Library Systems Association of NY (SLSA) for this media literacy-focused professional development event, designed specifically for New York State school librarians and school administrators.
Participants will define media literacy and how it integrates into their curriculum. They will develop their understanding of the essential role school librarians play in teaching and supporting media literacy instruction, and hear from NY school librarians (PK-12) who are actively teaching media literacy skills to their students.
Participants will be guided through the Project Look Sharp Media Decoding Kits to explore pre-made NYS lesson plans focusing on media literacy skills.
Featured presenter
Shannon McClintock Miller is an international speaker, consultant and author who has a passion for education, librarianship, advocacy, technology, social media and making a difference in the world and lives of others, especially children. Shannon serves as the preschool-12th grade district teacher librarian at Van Meter Community School District in Iowa. She currently serves as the Future Ready Librarians Spokesperson and Future Ready Schools National Faculty Member working with librarians, educators and students around the world every day. She is also Capstone's Teacher Librarian Community Leader. Shannon is the author of the award winning The Library Voice blog and enjoys writing for various blogs, journals and other forums including ISTE, School Library Journal and Publishers Weekly. She has written 12 children’s books about library skills and Makerspaces with Capstone; wrote Leading from the Library with her writing partner Bill Bass and ISTE; and has contributed to several other professional books about libraries and education